We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - What an amazing place!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harraseeket Inn to your Saves list
Harraseeket Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
NJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wow - What an amazing place!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

Such an amazing inn - incredibly romantic, SUCH nice staff, very comfortable room, great shower, amazing food, I can't say enough good things about the Harraseeket - I can't wait to go back!!

  • Liked — Everything - an amazing place in every day.
  • Disliked — The elevator was slow - but the stairs are right there and add to the cozy ambiance, so there was no need to take the elevator anyway!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    101
    40
    9
    10
See reviews for
111
277
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Harraseeket two weeks ago on their 3 night/2 meals winter special. We had previously stayed there about 8 years ago and enjoyed so were keen to return.

It didn't disappoint, and if anything it was better this time than last time. The room was fine, overlooking the garden, and the olde world charm of the inn is one of its main attractions. Yes its not a modern Hilton or Marriott style hotel, thats why we stayed there.

We ate in both the grille restaurant and the main dining room, both meals were excellent. Being on the package, there was no restriction on what we could order, any starter, entree and desert of our choice.In the grille I had lobster and in the main I had the best fillet steak ever. My husband had scallops and lobster which he said was divine.

We also enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea in the lounge, with cookies, fruit and cake and warm cider - a welcome treat after a hard days shopping or sightseeing.

We were there on halloween and there was a superb display of pumpkins on show carved by local children.

I read a comment on here about the car park, our car was valet parked when we arrived, the car park is at the back of the hotel only 100 yards max from the hotel rear door - no problem!

We won't wait another 8 years before returning.

  • Liked — Charm and ambiance
  • Disliked — Would have liked a larger room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

I had high hopes for this hotel and maybe that is why I was so disappointed. Everything just seemed so dated & old - from the reservation process, to the check-in & check-out to the room itself. This might be part of the charm for some travellers but for me it felt old and cold and I wished I had booked into one of the newer hotels. The location was okay and within walking distance of LL Bean but the parking was located at the bottom of a hill behind the hotel which wasn't great when you had stuff (including children) to unload. If you like charm & personal service, this hotel might be good for you but I wouldn't recommend it for any groups larger than two.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — difficult parking & small room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I surprised my wife with a romatic getaway at the Inn and was satisfied with the location and the room in the carriage house. However our experience in the dining room was not very good. The waiter delivered our sparkling water, opened it and subsequently exploded, soaking both of us. The waiter did not apologize for this mishap. He continued on with us as if it never occurred. He returned to take our order asking, "Have you figured it out yet"? At this point the remark felt rude. He brought our salads one correctly and one incorrectly. It was rectified when it was brought to his attention. When we ordered dessert, I requested an item that was not on the menu which he promptly brought from the pub down the hall. My wife asked for a simple sorbet which took more than 15 minutes to arrive and only arrived after requesting it from another server. When we reported this to the management the next morning, the manager seemed disinterested. This chain of events will deter us from returning to the Harraseeket inn.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

The Harraseeket Inn is exactly what I think a well run inn embodies. I have stayed here for the past four years on an annual trip to Maine. The front desk staff is friendly, pleasant, and accomodating. The breakfast buffet is absolutely delicious (and included in the price---as is an afternoon tea). I first came for the chef (who is now in Portland) and continue to come because I like the inn itself. On this stay I ate in the tavern--had the Maine special of lobster stew, lobster roll, and Maine beer-- and watched the Red Sox. What better way for a New Englander to spend an evening. JD, Vermont

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — it was fine
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

We stayed at the Harraseeket Inn the week of August 8th for the second time. First time was August 2006. We stayed in the Carriage House, as we booked a stay with our cocker spaniels. We love this Inn. See my previous review.

This hotel is lovely! The restaurant is fabulous too! We ate every meal all week! The brunch is the best value. Be sure to get reservations in early as this hotel is packed at dinner time.

Our room was cozy and comfortable and our dogs love the dinner served on a silver platter. Customer service was great and they made our stay completely comfortable.

Shopping is a block away. On days, I thought I was in Amsterdam...the town was over run with european's spending their euro's! Hurray for them!

We will return!

Thanks Harraseeket!

  • Liked — The restaurant!
  • Disliked — No outdoor pool!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We booked a king room and it was superb, service also remains very good. Stayed here last year too and the food remains excellent - must try the made-at-your-table Caesar Salad in the Dining Room restaurant which was excellent. The location can't be faulted either.

  • Liked — The quality of the dining
  • Disliked — The A/C in the breakfast room could've been cooler - but this was minor!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Address: 162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harraseeket Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harraseeket Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.