We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secon try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harraseeket Inn to your Saves list
Harraseeket Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Secon try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We gave the hotel a second chance and stayed in the carriage House, very pleasant room, very quite and clean. Front desk very helpful with local area attractions, service at restaurant a little slow, but overall a very pleasant stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us a second chance. No matter how hard we try, sometimes things don't go as planned, and for those times we apologize. Trip Advisor has proven to be a great forum for our guests to give us the feedback we need to keep on top of our game. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we're glad we measured up on your latest stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    100
    39
    9
    10
See reviews for
109
275
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

For years we have stopped for a delicious lunch in the Harraseeket's lunch tavern. A nice retreat from the hub bub of shoppers in Freeport. This trip we decided to indulge and spend the night on the 4th. & and 10th. of October.
Different rooms on each occasion and found the everything about the room comfortable and blissfully quiet. Easy check in easy check out. Both visits we ate in the dining room (dinner and breakfast) Food is well prepared and very, very good.
Hotel staff, and dining staff went out of their way to be polite, helpful and we left with the thought "We will return!!".
We were unable to take advantage of the complimentary tea in the 'living room' however the fireplace's crackling with two large arm chairs on either side again, indicated we should return.
The Harraseeket Inn is not inexpensive nor is dining there, however as said, if you wish to have a totally enjoyable stay somewhere give serious consideration to visiting.
Plenty of parking and your dog is welcomed too.

Room Tip: The corner room on the first first room 2nd flr. had a garden view and partial view of the garden an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great place, comfortable room, outstanding food and service. Loved having a large bathroom with plenty of counterspace and a large TV as we like to keep up to date on news and weather while travelling. Don't miss dinner at the Broad Arrow Tavern -- it was one of the best meals of our trip. The location is convenient to Freeport shopping, including LL Bean.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor facing the street and traffic light and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you! Every time someone praises the Broad Arrow Tavern, we think of all the Maine farmers and fishermen who provide our chefs with the finest and freshest ingredients that make comments like yours possible. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and your meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our way back from our Wedding in the UK. We rang at around 2pm to get a room for the same evening. They gave us a cut price ($170) as it was last minute and when we told them we'd just got married they gave us their best room.

All of the staff are lovely, the fireplaces in the rooms are wonderful and the Maine Dining Room was a good dinner if a little pricey.

Can't comment on the pool or breakfast as it was a flying visit and we left early.

Worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Congratulations on your recent wedding! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we wish you a lifetime of happiness together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Ks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here for two days in the second week in October. I have always wanted to stay at a Maine inn and I wasn't disappointed. Great beds, comfy robes and wonderful sheets. They even had a turn down service that left a chocolate on the pillow. They have an afternoon tea in the drawing room that is well furnished with comfy chairs and sofas. There is even a fireplace and a grand piano. The breakfast is not to be missed. Wonderful food and is included with your room. One night we had drinks outside on the terrace with a fire in the fire pit. Spectular!! There is a tavern restaurant and the hotel dinning room. The service is superior. Everyone went out of their way to make our visit memorable. If you get up to Freeport stay here.

Room Tip: Very good location for shopping , night caps and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review! Our fire pit has become a very popular gathering place. It's great fun to meet people "around the camp fire" and create special memories. Camp fires bring people together in the very best of ways. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have stayed up and down the Maine coast and east and west, but our hearts and stomachs always go back to the Harraseeket. We stayed at a 'more famous' resort up the coast a few weeks back and kicked ourselves that we didn't stay here (so we came every night for dinner at the Tavern!) We have been coming for years, and we always feel welcome with warmth and sincerity. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've always been charmed by the Harraseeket Inn's appearance -- the white columns, gardens, huge pumpkins in Fall and flowers in Summer. We've walked through the lobby many times on our way to the Broad Arrow Tavern, taking a break from nearby outlet shopping, but we finally got to stay at the Inn on our latest trip to Maine. It was all that we expected.
We took one of the smaller rooms (with smaller prices) with an eaved ceiling & it was great - clean, comfortable, quiet. We had a large bath w/ nice shower and bathrobes. The staff was warm and friendly and people seemed to be enjoying themselves -- sitting on the patio around the fire pit, in the comfortable lounge, at the (very large) indoor pool. If you want an old inn, but also want modern plumbing, comfort and quiet this should do.
A generous breakfast is included in your stay as well as 'tea' - fruit, pastries, snacks, etc. in the afternoon. On this same trip we spent one night at the nearby Hilton Garden Inn and found the Harraseeket Inn to be a much better value and definitely a superior property. And the Harraseeket is just such a special part of Freeport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Wow. Thank you from all of us at the Harraseeket Inn! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Address: 162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harraseeket Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harraseeket Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.