We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Linda Bean s Perfect Maine Lobster Roll

Linda Bean s Perfect Maine Lobster Roll
57 Main Street, Freeport, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nice lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good place for lunch, the sweet potato fries were wonderful.Waitress was very helpful, and friendly. We sat on the balcony, which was nice on a warm day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    37
    21
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food! Service??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a really good meal here and would certainly return.

Dinners were priced right and the food was very well prepared.

A couple of issues. They had no lobster that night even though that's their "Maine" selling point.

Secondly, I really don't like it when the kitchen comes out with your food and doesn't know where it goes on the table. I'd rather wait for my server to bring me my food and clear my appetizer plates first.

Fix your service and we'll be back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“"Perfect" is a bit of an overstatement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location is their best asset ... right next to LL Bean's main store. They are a takeout window with a limited menu, featuring small to huge lobster rolls. We had 2 of the small rolls, but they only came on half a roll ... there was plenty of lobster (claw) meat, but it should have been spread out into a whole roll.

Service was so-so ... one of the servers behind the counter was fixing her hair over the food (not a good place to do that, unless you want hair in your food).

They don't have Coke or Pepsi products, so if you want a cola, you get RC cola (FYI, their "Diet-Rite" cola is caffene-free).

On the plus side, the lobster roll was good (if small), and came with chips and slaw. Just right for a quick lunch while shopping.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
1 review
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went to Linda's for a late lunch. I had clam chowder, single lobster tail, and fries. My wife had lobster bisque with lobster meat and the lobster roll. The clam chowder was one of the best I've ever had. Lots of small pieces of very tender clams (no sand) with a few potatoes. The lobster tail was broiled to perfection, tender and sweet. The French fries were ok. The lobster bisque with lobster and huge chunks of lobster was one of her favorites and she wanted more. The lobster roll was her first experience and she decided she liked her lobster warm (poured some of my drawn butter over it and ate every bite). We've been for seafood 4 times on this trip and this was our best meal so far.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the junior lobster roll. Very well seasoned and good. Could definitely eaten more. A little pricey, but, satisfying. Kept my carbs up for shopping.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda Bean s Perfect Maine Lobster Roll also viewed

 

Been to Linda Bean s Perfect Maine Lobster Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linda Bean s Perfect Maine Lobster Roll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.