We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, clean, and warm. What more could you ask for?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Northern Door Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Kent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Northern Door Inn
Save
You added The Northern Door Inn to your Saves list
356 W Main St, Fort Kent, ME 04743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Kent
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Well located, clean, and warm. What more could you ask for?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everything was extremely clean and daily housekeeping was great. They must have updated the rooms recently because the fixtures seemed newer (definitely looked newer than the pics posted by previous guests) and they had flat screen TVs.
The provided breakfast was your typical hotel fare, lots of cereals to choose from, toast, bagels, some donuts. Coffee and orange juice were both very good.
Found most of the staff to be friendly and helpful when needed.They offered family friendly activities in the lobby like checkers, puzzles, and board games that were free for guest to use. The wi-fi was not too bad, a little slower in the evenings.
We were there is sub-zero temps but our room was toasty and warm. Many of Fort Kent's restaurants and shops are within walking distance of the hotel.

Overall this is a very good hotel and I would recommend for anyone staying in the Fort Kent area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
13
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel one night in the fall. The good thing - it is clean and quiet. We stayed in a room with two double beds. The furniture is dated, probably from the 80s. The walls are painted panelling, the carpet old but clean and the bathroom fixtures olf but clean and working. The TV was a 19' full size hanging from the ceiling, but the cable worked well.

The breakfast was just okay - cold cereal, breads to toast. No real variety, no muffins, no water, no fruit. But if you like cereal and toast you will be fine.

The worst - the service. My husband checked with the hotel mid week for availability as we weren't certain of our plans. The clerk was not welcoming and had an indifferent attitude. It was a different person, but same attitude when we checked in at 6 p.m. No customer service skills at all. While at breakfast we witnessed two other couples check out and the young man that was working spent more time at the customer computer area playing computer games rather than to his customers. He kept looking over his shoulder to see if anyone was at the desk. When he did go wait on people it was if he was being bothered. Even when one man said "thank you" as he walked away from the front desk the young man didn't say one word to him. Not a return Thank You, Come again, nothing.

I would stay here again, but I don't feel it's that great of a bargain. About the same as cost as a Hampton Inn which offers exceptional service with a great breakfast and must higher quality rooms. There just aren't any in the St. John Valley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Northern Door Inn is the best place to stay in Fort Kent - unfortunate, but true. It is adequate, basically clean, Internet works well. It is dated with a wood frame floor built over a basement and can be noisey when the inconsiderate clients stomp up and down the hall. The bridge to Canada is conveniently located across the street - but a new bridge is being built and many of the workers are staying at The Inn, this can make for occassional problems, but not often. The bridge is scheduuled to be worked on for the nest two years.

The staff are unprofessional, moslty retirees and college student. Do not expect good service at the desk. Just remember this is the northern outpost of Maine and that the conditions are generally tough for anyone who goes there.

Room Tip: Suggest staying in the "main" building and get a north facing room - they have a view of C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Kent hotels

San Jose, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Someone else booked this reservation and I'd heard it was not so nice. When I saw the flyswatter in the room, I didn't know what to think.
Not so bad, turns out. Staff was friendly, my room was very clean, bed was not great but ok, and there was a continental breakfast in the morning. Lots of space in my room, too.
For some reason the internet doesn't work after about 10.30 pm, even out in the lobby. Not great when trying to get work done. No wireless so expect to plug in to the cord by the table.
Most of the year this won't be an issue, but I made the mistake of running the AC. It smelled like Swamp Thing had taken up residence in the room. I turned it off and left the room in hopes it'd air out. It did.
The hotel is directly across from the bridge, so be sure to ask about construction and noise when you book.

Room Tip: Construction is going on on the International Bridge across the street, so ask about it when you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This property is older but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly especially when I made the reservation by phone. I enjoyed having breakfast with the other hotel guests in the little dining area. Great place to stay. Love those county folks... :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nothing fancy but a comfortable, clean motel right at Mile 0 of US Route 1. Within easy walking distance of the Swamp Buck, a local tavern with good burgers and friendly staff and patrons. Breakfast at the Northern Door is carb heavy as are most breakfasts these days at motels. Staff at the Northern Door very friendly. I prefer to stay in locally owned (rather than chain) motels and this one met our needs nicely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we were in Fort Kent for a wedding. The room was ready about 2 hours early, which was nice for us. We stayed in one of their king size bedrooms. The room was not very big, but it was nice. The bed was a little hard, but still nice. The bathroom was clean, along with the shower. The only real issue we had there was that their internet was extremely slow. The person at the front desk had stated that they had a lightning strike awhile back and it had been slow since. Overall, nice place. I really don't have any complaints.

Room Tip: They only have a limited number of king size beds. Make sure you request one when you call. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Northern Door Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northern Door Inn

Address: 356 W Main St, Fort Kent, ME 04743
Location: United States > Maine > Fort Kent
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
The Northern Door Hotel Fort Kent
The Northern Door Inn Fort Kent, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northern Door Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.