We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Epitome of Pathetic and Impersonal Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foreside Tavern & Side Bar

Foreside Tavern & Side Bar
270 Rte 1, Falmouth, ME 04105-1326
(207) 781-4255
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“The Epitome of Pathetic and Impersonal Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

At 5PM on a rainy late summer day we arrived to attend a small and informal high school class reunion. The server was slow and inattentive despite eight of us having been seated at a large table near the bar and its wait station. We were never asked if we wished to order appetizers let alone if we wanted another drink. We felt invisible! After an hour or so of indifferent service we decided to forego both appetizers and dinner. The place had all the atmosphere of a long-neglected metro bus station. We liked best that our beers were cold when we got them. We liked least the abysmal service. With so many other dining and drinking options in the Portland area, we'd only return here if we were driving through Falmouth on US 1 or I-295 and needed to make a rest stop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    42
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were on our way back from Boston and missed our turn to the mall in South Portland. Decided to try this exit and get some lunch. Best wrong turn we've ever made. Wonderful lunch!! Our waiter Jacob was great! Totally recommend this place to anyone and everyone. My Mom and Aunt had a yummy reuben, I had a grilled chicken sandwich that was so delish!!! Will definitely stop again when we are down that way

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food, great service, would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Wonderful lunch today, food was delicious. Waiter who servied us was so friendly and helpful. Returned many times to our table ensuring all was ok. Many thanks for recommending an overnight stay in Rockland we had an amazing time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never Fails to Please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This reviewer lives locally, so I speak from much experience. The Foreside Tavern is the place where locals go to have a drink in the bar after work or have a wonderful dinner. The outside patio provides a great additional seating choice when the weather is good. The menu changes on a regular basis, and the chef chooses great ingredients the showcase a broad variety of entrees and appetizers that are fairly priced.
The waitstaff are well trained and very courteous and you can just have a drink and an appetizer and not feel pressured to hurry your meal. The mussels are always great, the signature burger is very tasty, and the pan fried haddock is a favorite. Sweet potato fries seem to fly out of the kitchen!! Plan on a relaxing visit to a friendly restaurant. The Red Sox and Patriots are frequent visitors on the tv screens in the bar, too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“good fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

wife & I decided on lunch, didn't want sandwiches or burgers
had gumbo=really good, lots of fish, meat, sausage, very little rice
not too hot [but I would like restaurants that serve bivalves to make sure they open all the way, but they weren't sandy]
also salmon grilled with sweet potato hash-wife really liked it
delicious blueberry rhubarb tart with ice cream-fresh warm, made in house, not too sweet
decent galss of reisling

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foreside Tavern & Side Bar also viewed

 

Been to Foreside Tavern & Side Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foreside Tavern & Side Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.