We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Inn

Save Saved
You added Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   321 High St, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

While I don't think the colonial inn was the worst place I've been it most certainly is not the best. It really needs some updating but didn't find it to be dirty, just old. The staff was pleasant enough. I feel for the price you pay you really could find better at one of the other hotel/motel in the area. However, I don't feel the Inn deserved so many terrible reviews it was just ok for us nothing worth returning to unfortunately

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    12
    5
    30
See reviews for
18
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I travel all the time in New England, I average 2 nights a week in a Hotel, and could not get a room at any of my regular places in the area. I have stayed in many Hotels and Motels, and never actually walked out on a place before. I booked it last minute because it was the cheapest I could find, about $140US. I checked in and the guy wanted a copy of my license, I said you have my credit card I will show the license, but you are not copying it. That tipped me off right away that something was not right. I went to my room, walked in, opened the slider and curtain and turned a few lights on in the room. I think the place was built in the 70's and has not seen a facelift since. I hate to say anything bad, but sometimes the truth hurts, and this place is dark, dirty, it smells, it's not clean, very outdated, and not worth the money they want.

Room Tip: The best room is any room not there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall staff were nice, great location outside of Bar Harbor and Internet connection was excellent. Room was very old, bed was uncomfortable and everything felt dirty because of age, even though everything seemed fairly clean. Also the price for this room was way overpriced.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel but given the little availability in the area on a long weekend, it is ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fryeburg, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Usually I do my homework before I book a room anywhere. This is what you get when you don't. We decided to do a last minute overnight. The location was good, they advertised a kitchen, pool/hot tub and allowed pets. There were many other properties nearby that were priced at almost half of what we paid ($89). The kitchen had a fridge, stove, sink and microwave. The kitchen had nothing else. We brought the ingredients for dinner with us. I went to the Goodwill to buy pans and then to the grocery for dish soap, sponge, paper plates, paper towels and plastic silverware. This added considerably to the cost of our stay. Had I known I could have brought supplies from home. However, after thinking about it I decided that advertising a kitchen with no supplies is like offering beds with no bedding. The room smelled of stale smoke. We sprayed Febreze, used a Febreze candle and used the AC which seemed to help until the staff took their smoking break outside our door. The AC pulled the smoke odor into the room and that was that. With a little research you can do better, good luck.

Room Tip: You'll need a can a Febreze, even for a non smoking room. Also, if you book a room with a kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked a non-smoking room and I was very dismayed that as we walked up to our room the whole hall smell the cigarette smoke, And also marijuana. I believe all they did was put a sign on the door to the room saying no smoking and decided that the rooms were no smoking that meanwhile the carpets the beds the pillows the wallpaper and everything has nicotine embedded in We got up very early on our second morning and left at 6 AM as we could sleep no longer, Our throats our eyes and a chest were all burning from the residual cigarette smoke. We also had to ask for a hair dryer and also the people in our next room Going in and out in and out to their vehicles all night long and yelling back-and-forth. We should have slept in our truck at the roadside rest stop

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Staff was accommodating. Most of our group (19 bikes most 2up) were located in the back building, which was conveinent for after a day of riding to gather every one together for a refreshment or two. There were at least two restaurants within walking distance. The rooms that most of us were in did not have a fridge (ice,trash can, sink or tub made a nice cooler) or microwave. My wife saw one of the rooms in the main building and it had kitchenette.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was fine for a two day stay. It catered for a range of visitors including families with youg children as well as couples.Rooms were large, clean and basic with tea and coffee facilities.We were allocated a ground floor room at the back that had a patio door straight to our parking bay.Unfortunately the weather was atrocious but the young families made the most of the indoor pool.Breakfast was basic - coffee, cereal and muffins but plenty of it. Well situated for the National Park and Bar Harbour. There were two restaurants in walking distance from the hotel both Chinese, one linked to the hotel the other 300 yards further down the road, walking distance but no clear sidewalk. Other than chinese a car is needed.The hotel is on a one way system so the first manouevre anywhere is to turn right.
Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 321 High St, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Ellsworth
Colonial Motel Ellsworth
Colonial Inn Ellsworth, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.