We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day shift not friendly at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle's Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellsworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Save
You added Eagle's Lodge Motel to your Saves list
278 High Street, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Weekend Special 15% off
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Day shift not friendly at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Daughter and I stayed overnight in July, checked out @ 9:00 to walk the trail across the street, the bird sanctuary and upon returning to hotel at 10:00 they refused to let us use the rest room or sit by the pool. "We have rules you know". I said "had I waited to check out at 11:00 you would let me use the rest room?" Don't expect much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
19
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel does not offer brand new amenities, but if you are looking for a very clean place to sleep after you've spent all day checking out the area, this is a great place to stay. It is roughly 30 minutes from Bar Harbor and it was a fraction of the price that the rooms in Bar Harbor were going for. There is a shuttle that runs for free directly from from the hotel to Acadia. It only makes one trip daily (from what I could tell - we didn't take it), but it looked like a nice option to avoid having to find parking.

The breakfast in the morning was limited but sufficient, cereal, coffee, juice, donuts.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My family and I wanted spend 4 days in Bar Harbor and located this hotel on line. The price was very reasonable when we compared to other hotels in Ellsworth and certainly much cheaper than staying in Bar Harbor. The staff was very friendly upon arrival and even offered us a AAA discount that I forgot to ask for when I made the reservation. The room was large enough for the 3 of us, was very clean and had a refrigerator and microwave which was great. It is at least a 20-25min ride to Bar Harbor, but the traffic on RT 3 wasnt bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We were kicked out of our campground due to Hurricane Earl and managed to get a room at this hotel for the same night. They weren't taking advantage of the hurricane at all and charged a reasonable price. The staff on the front desk were very nice and the gentleman gaves us some great dinner recommendations. (I think we went to Helen's restaurant, and it was lovely) I think we had a kind of suite, above the front desk. It seemed new and was very nicely maintained. The breakfast was basic but nice, and they give you trays to carry things back to your room if you want to. And best of all, the place didn't get blown away overnight!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This is on Route 3 (High Street) on the road to Bar Harbor. We checked prices at many places to stay in Ellsworth, then lucked out when our GPS found this motel up on the hill. The outside is not appealing, but the inside is clean and seemed freshly painted. Other places in town that we checked out were at least $40 more each night. Breakfast was only coffee, juice, roll, but stores are convenient and our large room had a microwave and refrigerator. Also had a pool. We only planned to spend one night, but stayed two nights and took day trips as it worked so well for us. We found a great Lobster restaurant (not fancy, and seasonal) toward Bar Harbor so we were happy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We arrived in Ellsworth early evening looking for a reasonable motel to stay at, an on-line search of nearby Bar Harbor had thrown up some incredible prices for what appeared to be the standard identikit chain hotels.

On arrival we asked for a non-smoking room for two but the receptionist had literally just booked the last one out as we stood there so only smokers were left. My wife has a sensitive respiratory system so this was a no. The manager (I think she was) offered us a smaller room which we could use and took us to view it and we said yes. The room was clean and was in a quiet part of the motel and we got a really good nights sleep (we are both light sleepers). As others have commented the breakfast is light however I had three types of coffee to sample!

The total cost was $66 which was easily half the minimum we would have paid just a few miles away, that coupled with the helpfulness of the manager and the quiet room made the Eagles Lodge one of the best choices we have made during this vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We got as far as reception. The place seemed a bit run down and in need of renovation. The staff seemed really pleasantand friendly but as I was looking around and checked out the car park it seemed that almost every guest was a manual worker with a pick-up. It seems word must have got around that this is a good, cheap working man's motel. Tourists who want a clean, quiet motel can find better nearby for a few more dollars.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle's Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle's Lodge Motel

Address: 278 High Street, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor? Schoodic Point or the Blue Hill Peninsula? The Eagle’s Lodge Motel offers a convenient location for guests who want to explore the attractions of Downeast Maine. The lodge, a 2 story motel, has 42 rooms and is open year round in the bustling City or Ellsworth, Maine. We offer 24 hour front desk service with fresh coffee always available and a warm welcome for all of our guests. Our beautiful outdoor, heated swimming pool is open from 9 am to dusk during the warmer summer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle`s Hotel Ellsworth
Eagles Hotel Ellsworth
Eagle's Lodge Motel Ellsworth, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle's Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.