We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know What You're Getting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Village Resort (II)

Acadia Village Resort (II)
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellsworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acadia Village Resort (II)
Save Saved
You added Acadia Village Resort (II) to your Saves list
50 Resort Way, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ellsworth
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Know What You're Getting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are three options for stay here...apartments (called "manors") in a 3 story tower building behind the office, as well as duplexes and townhomes. Our group stayed in one apartment and one townhome. The location is right downtown, just off High Street, so it's easy to get to Bar Harbor, Lamoine, Acadia National Park, and even north to Bangor.

I wouldn't recommend the townhomes. They were dark, the furniture was older...it was really like renting someone's cheap apartment. However, you do get your own washer/dryer and no one above or below you. However, the apartment (or manor) was well decorated, light, open, great for a family, with plenty of room for everyone, and a great living area for visitors. The garden tub was great and it was so clean that we let the baby crawl around freely all week. Plus the bedrooms were bigger. The entry was shared with one other apartment and there was a shared washer/dryer. You will have others above, below, and/or next to you depending on the "manor" you get.

If you're considering this location, be sure to find out which kind of property you're getting and see photos if possible. Since this location can rent for anywhere from $700-$3000/week....and there are only 6 manors....you want to be sure you know what you're paying for.

Oh, and there is a tennis court, access to an indoor playground, and an indoor pool and hot tub. Adults only swim from 8-10am and then open to anyone from 10am-9pm. The pool area is wood paneled and echoes badly, so be aware of this if you are sensitive to noise or traveling with kids.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a "manor"...you might have someone above you, but it's worth it for...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
20
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

wonderful resort close to acadia national park. worst part of the experience was the no air conditioning. in all honesty didn't really need it the week we were there. 15 miles or so away from acadia park, very nice drive through maine. not a bad drive and a lot of good restaurants along the way. clean, great staff, spacious rooms. would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from first visit to Maine and this was great location to visit the places I want to see up and down the coast. I stayed in 52B in the Villa section. These are one story units similar to a duplex. Share a front entrance with another unit. Washer & dryer in the front entrance. One bedroom sleeps 4 but I would not recommend for adults as it would get crowded. Unit was very clean. Furniture was older but comfortable and mattress was new and comfrotable but plastic coated mattress cover crinkled and made noise when I moved. Huge tub/shower but little difficult to get in and out with no grab bars. Office staff was great and wine/cheese get together on Tues. night was fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdngtchr
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have noticed some pretty terrible reviews of this timeshare resort near Bar Harbor, and just wanted to add my take on things. My friend and I did a mini-escape during our April school vacation and couldn't have been happier. I'd vacationed at this resort with my hubby, years ago, when it first opened...and was a bit leery of returning after reading the reviews. Our condo was immaculate - yes the resort is a bit tired after all the years of use - but we had new furniture (except the sofa), new mattresses and bedding, and carpeting - so upgrades are being done. The location was nearly perfect as we're both photographers, too, and wanted to spend some time in Acadia and Bar Harbor taking pics. It all worked out wonderfully - except for the cold winds...but that's April in New England!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with new mattresses. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The morning of check-out, there was a brand-new shiny 2.5 inch nail that had been skillfully put under one of our rear tires. It gave us a flat tire on our way home. The five dollar daily fee for using Wi-Fi was not in the least bit pleasant. Whenever I sat on the old coach in the living room, It was hard not to sink abruptly into it. Otherwise, it was a nice stay in a clean and quiet townhouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAYNE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am an ex-housekeeper, so believe me when I tell you our two story unit with a view of the woods was spotless. The staff could not be nicer, especially Grace at the front desk. The problem was the furnishings. This was, no exaggeration, the worst bed I ever slept on. The bed was so bad I left it the first night around three AM to sleep on the sofa, which smelled. The sofa cushions did indeed, as one other reviewer noted, sink right down to the frame. I complained about the bed the next day and a foam mattress was delivered for us to put on under the sheets. It did help somewhat, but not enough. My arm still fell asleep if I leaned on it, the bed was that hard. We constantly fell into the middle of the bed. The bed creaked with every movement from the wood, not the springs, which I think were nonexistent.
After a long day of hiking and biking, a decent bed is a necessity.
Nothing a few dollars wouldn't cure. Until then, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the woods offer the best view. The two story units have a huge jacuzzi type tub in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in a two story townhouse for a timeshare week. The location is good - just outside of Acadia & not a far drive to get anywhere. The townhouse was immaculately clean, but the entire resort is tired. The rooms were all of good size, but everything is a little worn. The old couch sagged in the middle and was like the rest of the furniture - just past it's use by date. The beds were adequate - but no one would mistake them for comfortable. Every finish, whether it be the furniture or the tiles on the floor all started out cheap & are being asked to extend their lives longer then they maybe should. The Master Bath was indicative of the whole unit. Lots of space, but the smallest, stall shower they could install (reminded me of a cruise ship), the smallest toilet (thought it should be in a children's school), and the cheapest, discount finishes they could find. When I returned home, it made me feel like my home is a resort comparatively.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acadia Village Resort (II)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Village Resort (II)

Address: 50 Resort Way, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acadia Village Resort is located in Ellsworth, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, two of Maine's premiere tourist destinations. Our accommodations offer a spacious living area, completely furnished, and equipped with modern appliances. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acadia Village Resort (Ii) Hotel Ellsworth
Acadia Village Resort (II) Ellsworth, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Village Resort (II), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.