We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and best pies Downeast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helen's

Helen's
55 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605
(207) 667-2433
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 59 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food, service and best pies Downeast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have just read some of the reviews and am thinking they must not have eaten where we have eaten for years on our trips to Maine. We have never had anything but great food (and my husband is super picky) and always friendly service. We come to Maine every year or two years and always stay in Ellsworth because of the friendly people and to eat at Helen's. My husband has the Coconut Pie each meal and I have the Blueberry. Never had a bad meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    29
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst service ever experienced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Absolutely the worst in your face "I-couldn't-care-less" attitude. Just another mill on Route 1 serving poor food for too much. As long as the tourist traffic goes by and the folks stop in to eat and leave, they will be able to get away with it. Sad end for a great Machias name.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A "deep fried" dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived to Helen's following the suggestion of our innkeeper.
We have the idea of taking a whole live lobster but when we arrived they were out of lobster! our waitress proposed us a LazyLobster, that according to her it should have the only difference that we don't have to crack it. In addition we took a mixed seafood plate.
When the plates arrived we had two surprises: first one was that the mixed seafood plate was very generous but entirely deep fried. We have not caught it when ordering but it was not bad. Second one was that the lobster was not so good as the other taken the day before. My opinion is that it was not 100% fresh... Anyway it was not bad but it was not as I expected. Service was good, nice and quick. They prepared for us a free mashed potato to go for our baby. Very kind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Helen's is basically Kind of Lousy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We took a local ladies recommendation to try Helen's. Totally bad experience. Would never listen to her again! The place was dirty. The booth we sat at had torn-shredded actually-vinyl with the stuffing coming out. Looking around I see they are all like that. You stick to the dirty floor, and the restroom stank. The prices are ridiculous for what you get. A very mediocre chowder bowl for $10.00! It was totally unremarkable for that price with very little fish in it. I will pay for good food, that isn't the issue. It's not good food.

The waitress was seemingly harried and forgetful, yet had time to sit in the booth next to us to schmooze with the other staff and locals (her relatives I think) it was like a parade to that table. That's all well and good but don't ignore your tables, which she did. One of those 'veteran' servers who could care less. This place looks like an old run down dusty Friendly's with dirty 'antiques' screwed to the walls. They're trying hard to turn off the guests with greasy overpriced seafood. They did turn us off. Make another choice. This place was just Poor!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Typical family restaurant - nothing very notable except for an extremely slow kitchen!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went for lunch with family and a baby. Fired clams were ok, if a little greasy.
The wait staff were very attentive and apologetic for the slow kitchen. It seemed like several of their cooks showed up late for work.

Fresh raspberry pie with a ton of real whip cream on top was very good. Moderately priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen's also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Helen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.