We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with even greater service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellsworth Ale House

Ellsworth Ale House
337 High Street, Ellsworth, ME
207-664-0844
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 58 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food with even greater service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Angus beef burgers cooked to perfection! Quite a variety of already paired topping combos on the menu but you can also build your own. I had a bacon, blue cheese and grilled onion that was unbelievably juicy and delicious. The quality of their bacon is amazing too. My husband had their chili dog overflowing with chili and cheese. He was very impressed with the quality and size of their hot dogs.
Portions are large and prices are low (a winning combo these days for any restaurant). The table next to us had the haddock and crab chowder with lobster rolls. They were raving too about the chunks of meat and savory taste.
Yes it's a bar as another reviewer pointed out. "Bar" and/or "pub": aren't the terms interchangeable these days? Don't go here if you are looking for a 4 diamond restaurant. But if you are looking for a casual, relaxed pub type atmosphere with fantastic food and stellar service, This is the place to go in Ellsworth. The (working) owner will make sure you are taken care of as she is probably one of the most personable and down to earth restauranteurs I have met in a long time. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solid pub food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a late lunch while in Ellsworth for the day. There were lots of beers on tap, many from Maine. The menu is solid pub food, wings, burgers, fish n chips, etc. I had wings with their homemade spicy buffalo sauce and a Caesar salad. Sort of my go to pub lunch. Both were very good. Loved the sauce on the wings and the Caesar dressing. The owner was bar tending and she is a very personable and capable woman and I wish her all the best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“It's a bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

It's a bar. Stopped for dinner but left cause we didn't like the menu. We had a beer, nice list, and then a snack. Left to find lobster!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Clam Chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

On our way to Bar Harbor, we stopped at the Ellsworth Ale House for a quick lunch. The clam chowder was amazing; full of deliciously sweet and tender clams and diced skin-on red potatoes. It was the best I've ever had. Some may think that the clams might be too sweet, but that's just the way I love them. The salad was very good with lots of dark leafy romaine, red onions, cucumbers, and tomato slices. The one flaw was the balsamic vinaigrette was more oil and less vinegar. If that had been the appropriate ratio, I would have rated the meal excellent. My husband enjoyed his lobster roll with its large pieces of lobster meat, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Beer menu, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice open bar area with comfortable seating. I had a lunch salad with steak, very generous portion at a reasonable price. Big U shaped Bar, I am sure at night this place rocks. Service was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellsworth Ale House also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Ellsworth Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellsworth Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.