We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ @ ludicrously low price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mainely Meat on Main

Mainely Meat on Main
193 Main Street, Ellsworth, ME 04605 (Formerly Mainely Meat)
207-664-5239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 56 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ @ ludicrously low price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not sure if we stumbled upon a secret sale or happy hour but we got a lot of food for little $$$. Before tip we clocked in at $25 for 2 pints of Atlantic Beers (Scottish Ale & Coffee Stout) and 2 samplers. The sampler includes coleslaw, baked beans, potato salad, pulled pork, ribs, chicken & sausage. Also you get corn bread. Super yummy smoked flavor, so lived up to expectations. Well worth it at twice the price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went to the location at the Atlantic Brewing Company. It was YUMMY bbq and it was nice to sit outside in the garden and enjoy it with a cold, locally brewed beer. Service was great too! We'll definitely go back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I work at a nearby hotel and my manager and co-worker and I order Mainley Meat when we are all on together. We either get the "sampler" (Which has EVERYTHING and can feed 3 ppl with left-vers) or I order the pulled pork meal. The ribs literally fall right off the bone and to be honest the pulled pork (with a little xtra bbq sauce) are to die for! Not to mention the awesome staff!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We go here whenever we have company, Wonderful BBQ, only complaint would be I wish they had just one fish item, we are in Maine and I bet they miss out with those non meat eaters who partake in seafood! Hint hint Mainely Meat!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Eventually you are going to want something, anything, other than lobster. This is your place. Friendly service and a great menu, without a lobster in sight.

This is BBQ place with a good selection of beers. I had the sampler so I tried the chicken, ribs,sausage and the pulled pork. Normally pulled pork is my favorite but the ribs here may be the most tender I've had. The sausage flavorful and spicy and the chicken also great. Guessing don't have a favorite. The meat is ready for the the sweet, house sauce. Actually two sauces that I thought better mixed together for a sweet and tangy combination. Sides were baked beans and potato salad. Overall, a great meal for an attractive price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainely Meat on Main also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mainely Meat on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainely Meat on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.