We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer hotel, roomy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Newer hotel, roomy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. newer hotel. Clean, quiet, large rooms. Walk in shower in big bathroom. No hints of cigarette smoke. Good value for the money and close to many restaurants, shopping, attractions. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    68
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
76
88
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

While traveling through New England, we stayed two nights at this Hampton Inn. We were pleased with the spacious room. The room was meticulously clean and comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was well organized and offered a great selection of hot foods (waffles, cheese & salsa omelets, sausage, etc.). There was also a good selection of fresh fruit. Coffee, tea & hot water service was available in the lobby 24-Seven. The staff was courteous and the entire facility was bright and pleasant place to stay, with easy access to the pool. The location was conveniently close to Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington,La., United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Outstanding hotel during our entire trip. Not a single problem with hotel or staff and can't say that about a single other hotel on this Fall trip. Great stay and great staff, a pleasure to do business with.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wonderful staff, very clean rooms & bathrooms! A little disappointed with the hot water that never truly got HOT (esp on a chilly October morning) but that is my only complaint. Plenty of restaurants nearby (don't be turned off by the outside appearance of some of them, the food was great!)...only 20 min to Bar Harbor. Will stay here again when visiting the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Never in our years of stays at Hampton Inns have we experienced such a negative attitude than at this hotel! Eventually, after our persistence, we got what we asked for, but not without a bit of a struggle.
1) We asked to be moved to a quieter room when very noisy guests checked-in to the room next to ours. The entire top floor was vacant, yet we were initially told they would not / could not move us. Only when we threatened to check-out would they let us move -- and then we had to move ourselves - no help was even offered.
2) At the end of our stay, we asked for help making reservations for another Hampton Inn. We were told they did not do this type of service. oh?
3) We asked for the phone number of another Hampton Inn -- again -- we were told they didn't have it (or a directory) and could not look up the number for us. (We do not own smartphones or laptops, so we were expecting at least they could use their internet to assist us -- but they wouldn't).
4) On our last morning, we asked for 'to-go' breakfasts & were told none were available. Second attempt with another staff member yielded us a positive response. We only asked for them because they were about 30 min. late in setting up the regular breakfast for that day.
5) We asked for a print out of our hotel invoice. We were told they could not do this as we made the reservations through a third-party. Other Hampton Inns gave us a receipt - so not sure about this one.

After making our complaints directly to Hampton Inn, I was told they could not do much since we used a 'third-party' (this site) to make our reservations. We also are not eligible to get Hilton Honors points for our stay or any credit for the bad experience. (this was a surprise) To their credit, the Ellsworth Hotel manager called once and left a message. To-date we have not connected yet. Am hoping they call back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Cynthia:

Thank you for your review. I did want to clear some things up here. We only offer "on the go" bags Monday through Friday and those are for guests who do not have time to eat the full breakfast that we serve.

The hotel was full on the evening of question.

When guests use Expedia or other online travel sites, the online travel site charges your credit card not the hotel. The hotel charges Expedia's credit card, which is why the hotel cannot produce a receipt.

Hilton does not print hotel directories anymore.

If anyone here was rude or unhelpful, I truly apologize.

Sincerely,
Rick Savageau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, United States
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel continues to have issues on upper level floors and rooms with hot water and pressure from the shower head.. This is extremely disapointing when looking forward to a warm, wake up shower early in the morning. It has happened multiple times to me now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Peter,

We are very sorry for the quality of your room amenities during your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding our water heaters and shower pressure as we know how important a refreshing shower is while traveling. Your comments will help us to improve this amenity and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future and experience the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Rick Savageau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We usually stay at the Hilton family of properties and this was, without doubt, one of the finest Hampton hotels that we have seen. The front desk staff and breakfast host were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Upon check-in the gentleman at the front desk took the time to provide directions to Acadia National Park and what turned out to be an excellent dining recommendation. The person in charge of the breakfast area took obvious pride in keeping the area immaculate and fully stocked with appealing looking items. She also carved out quality time for friendly conversation with her guests to the point that she made the entire breakfast experience stand out from any other Hampton where we have ever stayed. Our experience suggests that this hotel is exceptionally well managed and staffed. Thanks to all involved for making our stay, although brief, a pleasant one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine
Address: 6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.