We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely top-notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ellsworth
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely top-notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've stayed at this location a few times now and, honestly, it looks as new today as it did the first time I stayed. The workmanship in the rooms at this location should be used as a construction model for all hotels of the brand. Beyond the details the usual amenities are equally good for the vacationer or business traveler (I've been to this location for business and returned for a vacation - twice): the TV quality, A/C, bed comfort, and lack of noise are all outstanding. Happily this hotel also has windows that open - something lacking in most other hotels of it's type (they don't open much, but far enough to let in some awesome Maine air). Ellsworth lacks most of the standard nationwide brand restaurant chains but there are plenty of local places to choose from. Acadia and Bar Harbor are 20-30 minutes away depending on traffic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    85
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
96
110
17
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently became Hilton Honors members because of our experience at a couple of Hampton Inns. This property in Ellsworth lived up to our expectations and more. The room, the bed, the lobby, the elevator--everything--was spotless. In addition, the staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. While we were headed to Canada and only stayed here one night, we would certainly stay here again. It is in a wonderful location as a launching point to explore Mt. Desert Island (Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, etc.) and to visit Schoodic Point (where a smaller portion of Acadia National Park is located). Stores and restaurants are close by. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. We were traveling in May, before Memorial Day, and got a room when we did not have a reservation. If we were planning a trip to this area, we would make a reservation to ensure having a room, as this part of the Maine coast is a prime destination for summer tourists and Mainers alike.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer City, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here 2 days last week. It was VERY clean and we loved everything about our stay. It was clean, clean, clean! The breakfast was VERY VERY good. It's only a short trip to Acadia Park and Bar Harbor. It's only a few blocks away from Wal-Mart and other shopping is close by. It was a PERFECT stay. I would highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

everything was exceptional but the tile floor in the foyer and bathroom. With the slightest moisture it was like being on ice. very helpful and friendly staff at front desk and breakfast. would recommend this location highly to all. pool and hot tub very relaxing. not exactly a 5 star breakfast but adequate to get you going. very clean and comfortable. coffee was very good. nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Mound, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The distance to Acadia Park was about 8 miles or 20 minutes. We purposely went out of our way to stay at a Hampton Inn. The room conditions were good, and we were glad to be able to trust the Hampton reputation. The only complaint is the low quality of the free breakfast -- totally not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hampton Inns come as standard so only local matters are worth commenting on. The rooms are clean, mattresses deep, and there is an ample supply of good towels. The young man at reception was very helpful, but the computers in the business room were maddingly slow. B/fast was good, facilities spotlessly clean, and service friendly. There is a paucity of eating places nearby but the Governor Family Diner suited our needs. The Hotel was very busy and I believe we had the last room at 9am. So if you are travelling in a holiday season, or at a weekend it would be worth making a reservation. Normally I like to see the room before taking, but you need not worry about quality at this hotel which we recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel is consistently clean and inviting. Staff make feel very welcome. I look forward to Pat's pizza down the street. although a bit pricier than other hotel options in Ellsworth, I feel it is worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Address: 6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.