We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at in all our years of traveling. Nothing really unique about it but it was extremely clean, good breakfast and very comfortable. Management was not overly friendly but proffesional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    99
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
106
134
18
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a two queen bed room. Very clean and bed are great with comfy duvets. Front desk staff checked us in early and was very caring towards my mother. The only negative thing (no fault of the hotel) is the next door room had kids running up and down the hall. "Why can't parents control their kids".

Not a long drive from Bangor for shopping. Denny's restaurant up the street. Well light parking lot. Didn't need to worry about car. I could see it from our window.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Traveled to Downeast Maine for my mother's 80th birthday. Family met up at Hampton Inn, Ellsworth. The hotel was super clean and the staff was outstanding. THey would greet you each time you came in the door. It wasn't the typical, "hello, welcoime to Hampton Inn..blah blah blah" IT was a persoanl greeting as if you were the only one in the city right then. It was as if they really were appreciative you were there. Upon returning from dinner the night clerk offered my mother a birthday gift from the sundry shop in the hotel. Very friendly and worth every penny. THe breakfast was pretty good too. Never found an empty item on the buffet. As soon at something got low they replaced it. Only suggestion would be to have two waffle makers!!! Love the fireplace too.
Jasper's resturant is great for seafood if the Chart Room down the road is closed for season.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozrah, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff and clean roomy accommodations will make this our return to hotel in Ellsworth. The very spacious bathroom and well laid out room were terrific. Free Internet and good rate were a pleasant addition.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we travelled to Maine for the last long weekend of the year before Christmas , our purpose was to do some shopping , Ellsworth is about thirty miles from Bangor where the majority of shoppers many of them Canadian would be and all the hotels were booked, we however stayed at the Hampton Inn where it was quiet, relaxing and with everything there at the hotel you would expect at a five star hotel but with a great rate, three nights for a total of $200.00 , the breakfast offered was fresh and different each morning and just that alone probably saved us from having to go to some restaurant and spend $ 30.00 everyday for a meal . TJ MAXX Renys and Mardens are within a block and with no crowds or traffic it made for the perfect place to stay, Thankyou to the staff at the hotel you copuldn't have been any more nicer or professional .

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room if there to shop or if you have small kids or elderly with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is not in Bar Harbor as we thought but we made the reservations on the road (I was a passenger doing the reserving, not a driver!) using the TripAdvisor mobile app. That part worked out ok since we arrived at dark.

The room was large and the room clean and all amenities were in good order. The shower was spacious. The room was not cheap but not over-the-top expensive at $151.46 (AAA rate). This was the last night of the tourist season (10/15/12).

There was not much bad to say of our experience. Breakfast was of good continental-type quality. We headed out early the next morning for Acadia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Hampton Inn in Ellsworth has been open only a few years, is still in excellent physical condition, and is extremely well managed and maintained. That said, there are a few puzzling issues that I found to detract somewhat from the overall guest experience.

The room rates are unusually steep for a Hampton Inn, not just during the high tourist season during the summer, but in fact in the off-season as well. In addition, the number of Hilton Honor points required for a stay at this Category 6 hotel is extremely high for a relatively humble basic property with few amenities. Clearly corporate is hoping to attract the well-heeled summer tourist trade in the Bar Harbor area, but they seem unaware that most other properties in the area, including many that are much closer to Bar Harbor itself, offer far more luxuries and amenities at much more attractive rates during the long off-season.

A further issue is that, despite this being a relatively new Hilton property, it was built using technology that is typical of some 10-15 year old Hampton Inns. The one elevator available for guest use is excruciatingly slow, making for some very long waits during peak traffic hours. The ancient television sets, which must have been found gathering dust in the corporate warehouse, are very dated, with poor picture quality and extremely slow channel changing. The local cable service is extremely poor as well. Perhaps HDTV has not yet reached this area

All guest rooms offers both wi-fi and Ethernet internet access. This is just as well, because the wi-fi reception, at least in some rooms, is very weak and virtually useless, even for basic E-mail communication. Guests with laptops will need to use the hardwired Ethernet connection, whereas those with smart phones or tablets without Ethernet ports or direct 3G network connections will just be out of luck. Maybe the wi-fi reception is better in the lobby.

It is difficult to fathom why Hilton corporate positioned this property so non-competitively in this market. Given the high room rates, general lack of amenities, dated technology, and 20-minute drive to Bar Harbor, I would choose to patronize other, non-Hilton-branded properties in this area on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on our property and amenities. We do apologize for the insufficiencies such as connectivity of our wireless internet. I would like to mention that we do have HDTV on our property in all of our guest rooms. We apologize that you were disappointed in our amenities and we will be sure to keep your comments in mind as we look toward refresh options for our property. We currently have plans to update the wireless system and hope to have a faster internet experience soon. If you return to the area we hope that will consider staying with us again and sharing feedback on our new guest experience.

Thank you,
Rick Savageau, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Address: 6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.