We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer Property with High Room Rates and Dated Technology” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Newer Property with High Room Rates and Dated Technology”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Hampton Inn in Ellsworth has been open only a few years, is still in excellent physical condition, and is extremely well managed and maintained. That said, there are a few puzzling issues that I found to detract somewhat from the overall guest experience.

The room rates are unusually steep for a Hampton Inn, not just during the high tourist season during the summer, but in fact in the off-season as well. In addition, the number of Hilton Honor points required for a stay at this Category 6 hotel is extremely high for a relatively humble basic property with few amenities. Clearly corporate is hoping to attract the well-heeled summer tourist trade in the Bar Harbor area, but they seem unaware that most other properties in the area, including many that are much closer to Bar Harbor itself, offer far more luxuries and amenities at much more attractive rates during the long off-season.

A further issue is that, despite this being a relatively new Hilton property, it was built using technology that is typical of some 10-15 year old Hampton Inns. The one elevator available for guest use is excruciatingly slow, making for some very long waits during peak traffic hours. The ancient television sets, which must have been found gathering dust in the corporate warehouse, are very dated, with poor picture quality and extremely slow channel changing. The local cable service is extremely poor as well. Perhaps HDTV has not yet reached this area

All guest rooms offers both wi-fi and Ethernet internet access. This is just as well, because the wi-fi reception, at least in some rooms, is very weak and virtually useless, even for basic E-mail communication. Guests with laptops will need to use the hardwired Ethernet connection, whereas those with smart phones or tablets without Ethernet ports or direct 3G network connections will just be out of luck. Maybe the wi-fi reception is better in the lobby.

It is difficult to fathom why Hilton corporate positioned this property so non-competitively in this market. Given the high room rates, general lack of amenities, dated technology, and 20-minute drive to Bar Harbor, I would choose to patronize other, non-Hilton-branded properties in this area on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on our property and amenities. We do apologize for the insufficiencies such as connectivity of our wireless internet. I would like to mention that we do have HDTV on our property in all of our guest rooms. We apologize that you were disappointed in our amenities and we will be sure to keep your comments in mind as we look toward refresh options for our property. We currently have plans to update the wireless system and hope to have a faster internet experience soon. If you return to the area we hope that will consider staying with us again and sharing feedback on our new guest experience.

Thank you,
Rick Savageau, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    98
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
106
133
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Millsboro, Delaware
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our second night here and it was aweful! The doors to the rooms slammed all morning long. 1:50 am, 2am and so on. So maybe I am a little crabby this morning. You could hear the man pee from our room and hear him drop the toilet lid too! If they could do something with doors!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The good: We arrived incredibly early, 11am as I had been unwell and thought we'd ask if we were able to check in thinking they would say no. The room we were assigned had not been cleaned as check in was not until 3pm but another similar one was free and they allowed us to check in. How wonderful of them. Room was spotless, absolutely spotless - so clean you felt ok walking around barefoot and using the bath and all the facilities, comfy bed, good tv with good channel choice, wi fi, nice room set up, lovely decor, nice side chair to sit in, desk and chair, fridge, iron, spare blankets, able to quickly accommodate a non feather pillow request. Windows actually opened so you could have fresh air to breathe - nice after so much air conditioning in many places though you could use it there if you wanted to as well. It felt really homely for some reason, like you were at home. Easy to park out of the front for free in their car park. Near to several large stores in the area. At the gateway to Acadia, about 20 minutes drive from the National Park.
The bad: Coffee machine was in the bathroom which I always find weird though it seemed so clean it didn't bother me that much. Room was quite small in comparison to some we stayed in but was liveable.
The ugly: We were at the back of the hotel on the second floor near to some large outside fans that were on the ground. Every once in a while these would start up and make a continuous droning noise which was quite irritating when you had the window open. If you shut it you could hardly hear it.
Would I recommend it: Yes! The place had a really good feel about it for some reason. It was just a great place to stay. Just ask for a higher up room away from the large ground fans out back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the large fans that are on the ground out the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

As expected of the Hilton group, the Hampton Inn in Ellsworth is excellent, even though I may not ranked it as equal to the Garden Hilton Inn. Nevertheless, it is clean, comfortable, great customer service. No complaint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel, very clean, great breakfast, awesome service! We were treated very well, check in has never been easier especially with a child on my hip. The indoor pool was clean and the only one in the area. I would stay here over and over again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here over the weekend. The place was nice and clean. It was a good overal stay and would hae been perfect if it were not for the housekeeping staff. The were yelling across the hall to each other a little before 9am. At first when I left my room, I though it was just some noisy neighbors because I saw about 4 women talking very very loudly and laughing in street clothes. I was shocked to see that it was the housekeeping department. What housekeeping dept in any hotel works in jeans? I had never seen that before. Luckily, I wasn't sleeping in that day otherwise I would have been a very upset guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is average but popular because there were not many name brand hotels to choose from in this area. We had a small room with a lumpy king bed. Bathroom had shower no bathtub. The only elevator stopped working when we were there. Free breakfast and Wifi. We paid the full retail price for the room since it was the high season for leaf peeping. We may try a mom and pop motel or cottage in the area next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you did not find your bed comfortable. We know how important a good night's rest is while traveling and regret this was not your experience with us. Please forgive our technical difficulty with our elevator, we know this was an inconvenience and we have since fixed the issue. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travel brings you back to the area.

Thank you,
Rick Savageau
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Address: 6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.