We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The good: We arrived incredibly early, 11am as I had been unwell and thought we'd ask if we were able to check in thinking they would say no. The room we were assigned had not been cleaned as check in was not until 3pm but another similar one was free and they allowed us to check in. How wonderful of them. Room was spotless, absolutely spotless - so clean you felt ok walking around barefoot and using the bath and all the facilities, comfy bed, good tv with good channel choice, wi fi, nice room set up, lovely decor, nice side chair to sit in, desk and chair, fridge, iron, spare blankets, able to quickly accommodate a non feather pillow request. Windows actually opened so you could have fresh air to breathe - nice after so much air conditioning in many places though you could use it there if you wanted to as well. It felt really homely for some reason, like you were at home. Easy to park out of the front for free in their car park. Near to several large stores in the area. At the gateway to Acadia, about 20 minutes drive from the National Park.
The bad: Coffee machine was in the bathroom which I always find weird though it seemed so clean it didn't bother me that much. Room was quite small in comparison to some we stayed in but was liveable.
The ugly: We were at the back of the hotel on the second floor near to some large outside fans that were on the ground. Every once in a while these would start up and make a continuous droning noise which was quite irritating when you had the window open. If you shut it you could hardly hear it.
Would I recommend it: Yes! The place had a really good feel about it for some reason. It was just a great place to stay. Just ask for a higher up room away from the large ground fans out back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the large fans that are on the ground out the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    97
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
102
131
18
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

As expected of the Hilton group, the Hampton Inn in Ellsworth is excellent, even though I may not ranked it as equal to the Garden Hilton Inn. Nevertheless, it is clean, comfortable, great customer service. No complaint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel, very clean, great breakfast, awesome service! We were treated very well, check in has never been easier especially with a child on my hip. The indoor pool was clean and the only one in the area. I would stay here over and over again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here over the weekend. The place was nice and clean. It was a good overal stay and would hae been perfect if it were not for the housekeeping staff. The were yelling across the hall to each other a little before 9am. At first when I left my room, I though it was just some noisy neighbors because I saw about 4 women talking very very loudly and laughing in street clothes. I was shocked to see that it was the housekeeping department. What housekeeping dept in any hotel works in jeans? I had never seen that before. Luckily, I wasn't sleeping in that day otherwise I would have been a very upset guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is average but popular because there were not many name brand hotels to choose from in this area. We had a small room with a lumpy king bed. Bathroom had shower no bathtub. The only elevator stopped working when we were there. Free breakfast and Wifi. We paid the full retail price for the room since it was the high season for leaf peeping. We may try a mom and pop motel or cottage in the area next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you did not find your bed comfortable. We know how important a good night's rest is while traveling and regret this was not your experience with us. Please forgive our technical difficulty with our elevator, we know this was an inconvenience and we have since fixed the issue. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travel brings you back to the area.

Thank you,
Rick Savageau
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Clean. Good breakfast. Nice pool and whirlpool. Enjoyed my stay very much.Friendly staff. Even provide cookies in the late afternoon. Close to Acadia national park. Plan to eat dinner while you are out for the day because there is really no good place for dinner. Consider fast food it's your best bet for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a good clean, relatively inexpensive hotel. We scheduled a last minute vacation at Bar Harbor, and all the good hotels closer to Acadia National Park were taken. The rooms were clean, and the staff accommodating. The hotel is right beside a Walgreen's, and close to a Super Walmart and about 40-60 minutes from the Acadia sites. The LL Bean outlet store is nearby. There were great Lobster places around.
The breakfast was okay, although I think they could have had more variety. There was also only one waffle maker, and the lines could become quite long. There were cookies for the kids in the lobby, which they loved! The pool was clean, and not crowded.

Overall, it is a good alternative hotel, but when we return to Acadia, we will probably book a hotel closer to the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Address: 6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.