We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here on a business trip while spending some time in nearby Acadia NP. Very new hotel, excellent rooms with windows that open enough to get fresh air at night. At peak season the prices weren't cheap, but for a Hampton Inn not far from MDI it was reasonable. While it isn't immediately next to Acadia/Bar Harbor, it isn't too far, and Ellsworth has a lot of alternative restaurants to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    98
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
106
133
18
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I frequent Hampton Inns often and are always pleased, but this one was over the top. It was immaculate with large nicely decorated rooms and a full breakfast with lots of offerings. Definately recommend it except for the price which was quite a bit higher than most.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Hampton Inns are pretty reliable and this was no exception. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. The facility was clean, modern, and bright. Their recommendation for a dinner place was spot on.

Their location is about a 30 minute drive from the Visitor Center at Acadia National Park. You can stay at a nice place near the Park and not pay Bar Harbor rates. Good job!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

Pros - amiable staff, very clean, huge shower with good pressure. Cons - scratchy sheets, crappy breakfast, and a smoke detector directly over the bed that flashed like a homing beacon.
Overall: a good value for us while visiting Bar Harbor for a couple of days, but far from the nicest Hampton Inn we've stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel opened within the past year. It is clearly over any shake-down problems. The staff was very helpful, the faciltiy was clean and obviously well managed. The breakfast area was suitably sized to handle the number of guests, and the food was replenished quickly. A nice added touch was during breakfast, a staff member came around and offered small boxes of mints to take along for the day! My only problem was finding the place on arrival day, as I was using a GPS that didn't know the hotel existed! Dummy me missed it the first time through town because I was watching the GPS screen - the hotel is easily seen if one is paying attention! I would definitely use this hotel again - it is in a great location IF YOU DO NOT WANT TO BE IN THE HUBUB OF DOWNTOWN BAR HARBOR. Coastal Maine is beautiful, and this hotel is worth checking. Travel safe!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel is only about a year old. The room was spacious, the bed VERY comfortable, the bathroom great. It had a microwave and refrigerator. The complimentary continental breakfast was quite comprehensive and there was a nice area for it. Loved the little mints they gave out.
There was a salt water swimming pool which we did not get to use. We did use the gym area which was perfectly fine for what we needed.
The hotel is outside Bar Harbor, but close enough to get there or to ay of the other islands without traveling a long period of time to get there. It is also across the street from a little mall and grocery store which makes it quite convenient.
Have a chat with Diane Partridge at the front desk in the evening. She has lived in the area forever and can tell you anything you want to know and more. She is AWESOME!
All in all this is a very nice hotel. We were very comfortable there.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Hampton Inn in Ellsworth is in Ellsworth - not Bar Harbor. It's actually about 20 minutes away from Bar Harbor. I'm not certain why they would include Bar Harbor in the location tag. We opted to stay here rather than in Bar Harbor, and were actually quite pleased with the hotel. The room was large and very clean (though the TV was fastened to the dresser, which was odd). The hotel corridors and room still smelled new and appeared to be very well maintained. The staff we encountered were friendly and accommodating. Of course, the free breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, but it was adequate and the breakfast staff were friendly. We stayed two nights and after fighting the traffic in downtown Bar Harbor, were glad to have this impeccably clean and non-crowded place to retreat too after facing the crowds in Bar Harbor/Acadia. Also, because you're not in Bar Harbor, the rate during peak season was more reasonable. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the area (which we definitely plan on doing because Acadia really is special and worth a longer visit to see more of one of our nation's most beautiful National Parks).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Address: 6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.