We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend, unless you absolutely have to stay there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I would not recommend, unless you absolutely have to stay there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Rooms were clean, swimming pool was OK. Staff is another issue, and customer service was not what we have been used to from various chains around the world.
The day we left (stayed for 3 nights), we accidentally had left two small bags (snack-food, and Cameras). Realized after a 1/2 hour drive away, and called the hotel if someone could check and call back. No response, until we drove back, and then only when we asked the front desk, they sent someone to look. The housekeeping apparently had cleaned the room, left the food bag in the room, and the camera bag was taken away from the room. We were interrogated about a few hangers missing, and whether we had any knowledge of it, before giving the camera bag. It was bizarre scene in front of my kids, as if we landed on a different planet. We always stay in a hotel after checking the customer's feedback, and this was the first time someone had questioned us. The staff in breakfast area was more interested to pass out breath mint in order to get good feedback on them to qualify for a trip the hotel was offering to their best rated staff. Beyond that, I do not see any harm staying there, if you need a chain hotel to stay for the night. Would I stay there again?- A big NO-- I felt some racial bias, and therefore will feel less welcomed there, if we ever visit Maine. Check out the other hotels in Ellsworth as well .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Manager at Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
I usually just read the comments from Trip Advisor and try to learn something from what people are saying; but this particular review offends me. For someone to insinuate that we are racist here at our property is ludicrous. We have had hundreds of people of other race, color and creed stay here and love the place and the staff!

The reason we have someone deliver mints is for our staff to interact with guests'. Hilton does run a promotion called "Catch Me at My Best" which does reward the staff member who receives the most compliments. It is a win-win promotion. It builds morale and also insures proper customer service.

I also would like to point out that the reviewer has done 7 reviews on TripAdvisor; 4 of those reviews were either poor or terrible. Someone is obviously an unhappy person. I feel bad for them!

Sincerely,
Rick Savageau Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    75
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
87
102
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Modern hampton motel with friendly front desk. hot & cold breakfast. Located on main street in Ellsworth. Near LL Bean's outlet store

Room Tip: Room Safes need to be turned on inside the safe to activate the battery controlling the digital safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
région parisienne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Based upon TA reviews we thought that it could have been a nice gateway to Acadia National Park. It was 16 miles away from it. The llocation was not beautiful. Even though the staff was friendly and the hotel very clean, our room was noisy. It was giving to the main street and was close to the lift. Because we were at the peak season, we could not get a quieter room at the back of the hotel. We spent 5 nights!!! The breakfast was average. Due to its pricing, we think that there are better options close to the park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This hotel is only several years old, very updated, and very nice. The staff, however, is what made this stay excellent. From check-in to check-out, we never met a staff member without a smile on his or her face, and always had a greeting for us. They made travel suggestions and then the next time they saw us they asked how our trip there had been. The breakfast staff member, Linda, was especially an asset to this Hampton. She was always ready to share her knowledge of the area and make recommendation and just make sure our stay was going well. In the evenings, Ralph was a great resource and provided us with info on a great out of the way area and great restaurants. All in all, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed her for two nights on our New England Adventure. Upon check in the room was all ready for us. It was very clean and everything looked new. They called a few minutes after entering our room to be sure we were happy with it and we were. This hotel is only about 15 minutes from Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. The breakfast in the mornings were always hot and coffee fresh. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I didn't book this hotel, my husband did. Because we asked for double beds, we received no refrigerator or microwave. Our friends who booked a king bed had everything, including a comfortable easy chair (we have a computer desk chair and a hardback chair. Yes, both rooms cost the same. There was enough space in the room to accomodate all the items we missed out on. Another problem with our room was the smell in the bathroom which smelled like soured towels. I checked the towels, etc. but could not locate the source of this very strong odor. I didn't complain because the hotel was completely booked up so we couldn't move to another room and we had already prepaid. Finally, there was only one elevator for a rather large three-floored hotel. Breakfast was the standard hotel fare. On the positive side coffee was available 24 hours a day and the employees were all very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Plain and simple. Very clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Address: 6 Downeast Highway, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.