We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Local Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finn's Irish Pub

Finn's Irish Pub
156 Main St, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1919
207-667-2808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Ellsworth, Maine
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Local Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I visited recently with my wife during a late lunch. I was greeted with a smile and told to sit anywhere. Inside is nicely decorated and a fun place. There was no music currently, but a nice set-up. The food was extremely tasty. The fish sandwich was a thinner batter and nicely presented on a bun. The Shepard's pie was good. I decreased my rating as the layer of beef/pork in the pie was a thin layer. I would defiantly be back to try other items on the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    80
    25
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Listen to your friends and go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I am the type of person who goes to the same places because I know what they are like. If I don't like what I have or the service is bad ,I don't go back. A friend and I met for dinner Thursday night and she chose Finn's. Okay, I thought. I will give that a try to make her happy as she likes the place. Well, guess what? I have a new restaurant to add to my favorite places to eat! The food was great, the service was great and it didn't break the bank. I need to go back and try another. I had a something garden sandwich with potato salad. Eggplant, roasted red peppers and veggies. YUMMY. I tried her nachos and it was homemade chips instead of the usual. Excellent stuff. Give this place a try if you have not. I was surprised with the number of people dining on a Thursday evening. I guess that shows how good the place is!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Haddock Sandwich in Downeast Maine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I know, who would have thought it? I eat Haddock every time I come to Maine and they made the best one I've had in memory. At a Irish pub. Go figure. Their bangers & mash sandwich was good and the Pumpkin & Ginger Cheesecake was unexpectedly delicious. Plus a good draft beer selection. Who could ask for more? Go there and keep these folks in business. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great food and the servers are always fun! We love it! I guess I have to say I'm a little disappointed that they don't have french fries.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Best food in Ellsworth! A must try restaurant! Food is timely, tastey and presented in a great pub way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finn's Irish Pub also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Finn's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finn's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.