We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Finn's Irish Pub

Finn's Irish Pub
156 Main St, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1919
207-667-2808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 restaurants in Ellsworth
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Calais, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

found out on our first visit that the atmosphere is dark,noisy,a little pricy and certainly not what we were expecting..will not make another stop here.the food was nothing to brag about either

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    102
    55
    20
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holden, ME
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Who knew that Ellsworth ME had such a great place for food & libations???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've been to Finn's several times - and each time it's a solidly excellent meal. The menu changes a little bit each time, but we've never been disappointed with the meal and drinks that we've had. An entree averages about $9 per person, without drinks. And their hand-cut potato chips are wonderful! Their "fish poppers" appetizer are chunks of deep fried haddock in a wonderful batter and the tartar sauce (with jalapenos) is to-die-for excellent!! Their specials, whether it's their soup of the day, appetizers or entrees are top-notch. Any place that can take a grilled cheese sandwich to heavenly new heights that appeal to kids and their parents deserves huge kudos. The clam chowder that they make is amazing - a touch of dill and something else, that we haven't been able to figure out, really rocks this item.

The wait staff are friendly and kind of quirky, but in a good way. And I've overheard them giving really good information that benefits tourists and locals about other restaurants, shopping and good places to camp (Finn's is located close to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor - and the information given was very good!).

The menu items are sure to please most epicureans, and I have heard that the kid's menu gets two thumbs up from the under-12 crowd. We've taken numerous friends to Finn's and they've all found their gustatory happy-space there. Another big plus is the fact that they have on-tap a good selection of locally brewed beers. ("Local" meaning that they have draft beer from Marshall Wharf in Belfast, Me (mid-coast) and the Liberal Cup in Hallowell, ME - next door to Augusta.) The bar is a full-service bar and they also have a solidly decent wine selection.

The bar itself is an old train car - and we've made a point of having a drink and appetizer in the train car just for the ambiance. The restaurant is small, but the staff is always more than happy to accommodate larger groups if you call ahead. All in all, Finn's has the food and the drinks to make even the pickiest epicurean happy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surry, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

average food, average servers, kinda expensive for what you get. beer was good and cold. uncomfortable hot inside dining area

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly low-key and casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We love Finn's! Whether we are looking for apps and great brews on tap at the beautiful vintage bar just the two of us or celebrating with a larger group of family and friends, our experiences Finn's are always satisfying. There is something on the menu that appeals to everyone, price is reasonable and the taps offer great choices.
It can get a little crowded at the bar, especially on weekend nights, as this is a popular local meeting place and live music is a big draw. We tend to leave the weekends to the younger crowd and go mid-week for a quieter atmosphere.
We appreciate having a more laid back option in Ellsworth, especially when we know we are still getting great food and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a great irish pub style place in downtown Ellsworth. The wait staff is awesome, the food is even better. Great atmosphere, great food great service! What a combination! I highly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finn's Irish Pub also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Finn's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finn's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.