We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Twilite Motel to your Saves list
Twilite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Call-in discount
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hubley, Ns
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our way to Rhode Island. For $49, this place is an amazing value with lots of character. Friendly owners, clean, comfortable room, free wifi, TV, and continental breakfast with fresh orange juice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    68
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
89
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northport Mi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

For 75 bucks a night we got a nice, clean room, a wonderful host and great conversations with fellow travelers. Close to Acadia, but quiet in its own way. nothing fancy but what a bargain! Midway through out trip, we were also very grateful for the laundromat on site.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holgate
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and the down home atmosphere. Since it was fall, the flowers were not in bloom but the grounds were very well maintained. The room was all that we needed -- a place to sleep and relax after a long day of sightseeing. The bed was very comfortable, the traffic did not bother us at all, the room was quieter than any chain motel we stayed in. The price was competitive, especially since we did not need a restaurant on the premises, a pool or sauna or bar. Would not hesitate to return. Rev. T. Wood

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed here for five nights. We had a queen room, a bit further from the road than some of the other rooms, which meant only minimal traffic noise. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. There was a refrigerator, which was handy. Next to the office, there was a little breakfast bar where tea, coffee and hot water were available throughout the day and night, as well as a microwave for guests' use. Breakfast was plentiful and was essentially a cold buffet with toast. Chuck and his wife were always ready to help and advise on local attrctions and amenities.
All-in-all, the Twilite motel was a very pleasant place to stay and thoroughly satisfactory. It's just outside town, in quite extensive grounds and we noticed a few guests had the facility to walk their dogs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Spouse and I decided to stay two nights at the Twilite Motel from reviews on Trip Advisor. We were surprised at how many Mom and Pop type "old school" motels there are in New England that are still in existence and seeming to do well.
There are a few chain motels in Ellsworth, but decided to try out this 1950's looking motel. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of this older motel. It was an excellent value in comparison to the chain hotels in town and in nearby Bar Harbor. Had a large room with good air conditioning with refrigerator and coffee maker. There was a very nice selection of toiletries in our room and a good choice of continental breakfast offerings. There was also free wifi. Beds were very firm, but was a very nice clean pleasant place to stay and would definitely recommend it. The owners live on the premises and are very personable and knowledgeable of the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I always stay in Ellsworth, not Bar Harbor when visiting Acadia NP in Maine. My Boyfriend found the twilight on Trip advisor and we were very please. It's clean, It's Cozy and it's in a great location if you hate the crowds in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This was our first trip to the area. We relied on the Internet recommendations and were not disappointed. We would not hesitate to highly recommend a stay at the Twilight to anyone. Clean and comfortable rooms and a staff that goes the extra mile to assist folks new to the area make the stay a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.