We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twilite Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Twilite Motel to your Saves list
Twilite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Augusta Maine
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Twilite Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay at the Twilite Motel in Ellsworth, ME. Exceptionally clean and very comfortable and affordable. Expedia told me there were non smoking and smoking rooms but they were wrong, the rooms were all non smoking. The owners are very nice people.

Room Tip: All the rooms are non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    68
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
89
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very clean, very affordable. The rooms don't look very new, but you're not coming to this part of the world to stay indoors, anyways! The rooms all have porches, which are nice to sit out on in the evening. The continental breakfast is a very light offering with both indoor and outdoor seating. There is a little gift shop where you can find some nice souvenirs to take back home. It was a bit further from Bar Harbor than I would have liked, but I loved the savings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Trip Advisor reviews are accurate. This is an old-style motel that is well maintained. Very functional but not fancy. The owner is very friendly. Willing and knowledgeable about the Maine attractions. He marked up a map for us to take with us. He was like a mini travel agent, in a matter of minutes he gave us some agenda ideas for our days stay. It was a cool rainy morning but he had a heater out on the office deck where we ate our continental breakfast, that was nice. Like my title says, a great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I only stayed here one night while visiting friends, but the reviews are accurate. This is an old-style motel that is meticulously maintained by the owners. Some physical features of the room were somewhat improvised, from the plastic folding bathroom door to various little signs and instructions (including one not to use the old thermostat and directing you to where the new thermostat is), but nothing is shabby or left in bad repair.

And the room was very clean!

Another nice touch was the provided continental breakfast. The owner apologized for it being less fancy/extensive since it turned to "low season", but it was fine.

The road in front of the motel (US 1), is a bit noisy, but the motel sits back far enough so it really didn't bother me at all. Slept like a log.

For the price, you can't do better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

No idea when this motel was built, but it has been maintained and slightly updated over time. Every Room has everything you need to be comfortable at a functional level, nothing fancy. What really makes the place is the owner! His sense of humor is quick, wit sharp and has opinions that at least match with ours. He provides ideas, handy facts and great hints for places and things in the area. Breakfast is basic, coffee very good, with great orange juice. Laundry room on premise, perfect if your touring the area for a few days. Some rooms have refrigerators making them really handy for those leftovers while visiting the quaint village bakeries, markets and restaurants. Microwave in the breakfast room open until around 10 pm which also has coffee and tea.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This motel was built in the 50's and is still a wonderful stay. The roms are very well maintained and extremely clean. The couple that runs the motel are very pleasant and accomodating. The breakfast is simple, but tasty and the coffee is good. We stayed tree nights and enjoyedit a lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

hey guys!....hope this review makes you want to stay in ellsworth, maine!...this little hotel is AMAZING! as soon as I booked the hotel months back, the owner was soo gracious, fun and ready to make our stay simply fitting for our stay. we live in florida, and was coming home to maine since 88'. once we arrived there, he made a point of coming outta the office and saying.."hey Robbie! I took your reservation!"...k, THAT alone...made it homey. we got to our room and it was so rustic cute...I wanted to move in. we were there for 5 days, the only complaint I had was we couldn't stay longer. I 100% recommend this homey little off the main drag. (it's actually ON the main drag, but set off the road). starry nites, cool color changes for fall foliage, and um, really nice complimentary breakfast. pastries, muffins, fruit, oatmeal, cereal.....and extra hard core coffee. hee hee hee. just GO there! you'll simply go again! :D

Room Tip: there is no pool, no restaurant....but sooo close to everything in ellsworth. less than 2 miles awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.