We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading home from Downeast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Twilite Motel to your Saves list
Twilite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Call-in discount
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Heading home from Downeast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

On our way South from Lubec we stayed at the Twilite Motel in Ellsworth ME based upon Trip Advisor reviews and because it seemed like a fun thing to do - another blast from the past.

The Twilite was as describe on Trip Advisor. It is on the outskirts of Ellsworth but not to far from the LL Bean Outlet, Reny's and Marden's Surplus and Salvage all places on the bucket list.

The Twilite is a 1950's vintage pull up to the door motel and everything was very clean and neat. If you must have interior corridors and encrypted room keys you should go somewhere else. The Twilite is owner operated and they live on the premises.

Their are two sets of buildings - the original and an expansion to the rear. I believe the building to the rear may have larger rooms - check this when you call to make reservations.

The only downside was that the shower which had been updated was very small - sort of like a cruise ship shower.

The breakfast was a continental breakfast off the office and there was also a patio for dining. They have Twilite coffee mugs for sale - I couldn't resist.

We would stay there again but would investigate the rear building for a larger room and shower.

We did not notice any road side noise - just a moderate thunderstorm by Southern standards.

The owner is a Green Bay Packer fan - his slippers were a clue.

Room Tip: Call to make reservations and ask about the rooms in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    68
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
89
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are the Holiday Inn type, this motel is not for you. But if you enjoy staying in a vintage roadside motel, clean, economical - this is the place for you. Friendly owners on site even provide a basic breakfast (bread, rolls, cereal). If your room is in the front, your sleep may be broken by the trucks roaring by on Route 1. We had Room 12, two queen-size beds, a little saggy, very clean bathroom, miniscule tub that is really a shower stall - strong spray, lots of hot water. $89! Such a deal!

Room Tip: Ask first for a room in the back to cut down on road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Quaint motel located about a mile outside of town on Bucksport Road. Called motel directly and got cheaper rate than was advertised on web search engines. Had queen size room in back portion of property away from the road. Somewhat quieter. Young female staff member at checkin recommended local restaurants in town. Motel room was immaculately clean and good sized. WiFi worked fine. Room was quiet. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Call motel directly when making reservation to get cheaper rate than advertised on Web search engine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A "mom and pop" hotel (the owners make a point of this, as they should) that offers small but clean and comfortable accommodations, with interesting design touches in the room and bath (carpentry and tiles were nicely done, but the tub was large enough only for a child). The owners were quite helpful with information (and hairdryer) and one evening even gave us muffins when we were to be gone during breakfast hours the next day. Even though the property is on a traveled road, our cabin was far enough away from the road that we were not aware of traffic. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Owners are nice people. The room and the bathroom were small and clean. The breakfast was very basic: bags of oatmeal, pastry, bread, apples. The lock in our room had some problems. There was no hairdryer in the room, but it was available upon request. It was a little noisy in the room since the motel is located near the road. Overall the motel is a good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Seeing other reviews of this motel we gave it a shot and weren't disappointed.
It was clean, comfortable, spacious (we had a larger queen room). The staff (the family that owns it) were super helpful with everything and even lent us their hiking maps for the Acadian national park (which aren't free!).
We found it perfect for our needs.
It's about 15minutes drive to Bar Habour (lots of places to eat) and about 2 minutes to local Ellsworth.

Room Tip: The larger rooms (deluxe?) are slightly behind the main building/office which may block more of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillipsburg, nj
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Lets see it was a great experience!! A lot better than staying at a chain hotel. Nice and quiet and away from it all. King size bed room and it was towards the back of the property. The owners were very nice and friendly. Mr. Owner was very informative and all his recommendations were just as he said. Fabulous stay the decor was very nice and if uou want big hotel chain with a lot of noise and out of control people then do not stay here. Need to get away from the crowds of big hotels then stay here!!! When we come back to Acadia and the surrounding areas we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.