We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, basic accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Save Saved
You added Twilite Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twilite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Phone us!!!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good value, basic accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are the Holiday Inn type, this motel is not for you. But if you enjoy staying in a vintage roadside motel, clean, economical - this is the place for you. Friendly owners on site even provide a basic breakfast (bread, rolls, cereal). If your room is in the front, your sleep may be broken by the trucks roaring by on Route 1. We had Room 12, two queen-size beds, a little saggy, very clean bathroom, miniscule tub that is really a shower stall - strong spray, lots of hot water. $89! Such a deal!

Room Tip: Ask first for a room in the back to cut down on road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    59
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
79
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Quaint motel located about a mile outside of town on Bucksport Road. Called motel directly and got cheaper rate than was advertised on web search engines. Had queen size room in back portion of property away from the road. Somewhat quieter. Young female staff member at checkin recommended local restaurants in town. Motel room was immaculately clean and good sized. WiFi worked fine. Room was quiet. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Call motel directly when making reservation to get cheaper rate than advertised on Web search engine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A "mom and pop" hotel (the owners make a point of this, as they should) that offers small but clean and comfortable accommodations, with interesting design touches in the room and bath (carpentry and tiles were nicely done, but the tub was large enough only for a child). The owners were quite helpful with information (and hairdryer) and one evening even gave us muffins when we were to be gone during breakfast hours the next day. Even though the property is on a traveled road, our cabin was far enough away from the road that we were not aware of traffic. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Owners are nice people. The room and the bathroom were small and clean. The breakfast was very basic: bags of oatmeal, pastry, bread, apples. The lock in our room had some problems. There was no hairdryer in the room, but it was available upon request. It was a little noisy in the room since the motel is located near the road. Overall the motel is a good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Seeing other reviews of this motel we gave it a shot and weren't disappointed.
It was clean, comfortable, spacious (we had a larger queen room). The staff (the family that owns it) were super helpful with everything and even lent us their hiking maps for the Acadian national park (which aren't free!).
We found it perfect for our needs.
It's about 15minutes drive to Bar Habour (lots of places to eat) and about 2 minutes to local Ellsworth.

Room Tip: The larger rooms (deluxe?) are slightly behind the main building/office which may block more of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillipsburg, nj
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Lets see it was a great experience!! A lot better than staying at a chain hotel. Nice and quiet and away from it all. King size bed room and it was towards the back of the property. The owners were very nice and friendly. Mr. Owner was very informative and all his recommendations were just as he said. Fabulous stay the decor was very nice and if uou want big hotel chain with a lot of noise and out of control people then do not stay here. Need to get away from the crowds of big hotels then stay here!!! When we come back to Acadia and the surrounding areas we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife has stayed here several times but this summer's visit to Maine included an extended stay at the Twilite. The owners are very cordial and pleasant... the room was most adequate and the cereal/muffin/pastry/fruit breakfast offering was terrific..and a nice place to chat with other visitors. Very close to downtown Ellsworth and easy driving to Bar Harbor and other coastal sites. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.