We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, homey hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Twilite Motel to your Saves list
Twilite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Call-in discount
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely, homey hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A "mom and pop" hotel (the owners make a point of this, as they should) that offers small but clean and comfortable accommodations, with interesting design touches in the room and bath (carpentry and tiles were nicely done, but the tub was large enough only for a child). The owners were quite helpful with information (and hairdryer) and one evening even gave us muffins when we were to be gone during breakfast hours the next day. Even though the property is on a traveled road, our cabin was far enough away from the road that we were not aware of traffic. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    68
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
89
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Owners are nice people. The room and the bathroom were small and clean. The breakfast was very basic: bags of oatmeal, pastry, bread, apples. The lock in our room had some problems. There was no hairdryer in the room, but it was available upon request. It was a little noisy in the room since the motel is located near the road. Overall the motel is a good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Seeing other reviews of this motel we gave it a shot and weren't disappointed.
It was clean, comfortable, spacious (we had a larger queen room). The staff (the family that owns it) were super helpful with everything and even lent us their hiking maps for the Acadian national park (which aren't free!).
We found it perfect for our needs.
It's about 15minutes drive to Bar Habour (lots of places to eat) and about 2 minutes to local Ellsworth.

Room Tip: The larger rooms (deluxe?) are slightly behind the main building/office which may block more of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillipsburg, nj
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Lets see it was a great experience!! A lot better than staying at a chain hotel. Nice and quiet and away from it all. King size bed room and it was towards the back of the property. The owners were very nice and friendly. Mr. Owner was very informative and all his recommendations were just as he said. Fabulous stay the decor was very nice and if uou want big hotel chain with a lot of noise and out of control people then do not stay here. Need to get away from the crowds of big hotels then stay here!!! When we come back to Acadia and the surrounding areas we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife has stayed here several times but this summer's visit to Maine included an extended stay at the Twilite. The owners are very cordial and pleasant... the room was most adequate and the cereal/muffin/pastry/fruit breakfast offering was terrific..and a nice place to chat with other visitors. Very close to downtown Ellsworth and easy driving to Bar Harbor and other coastal sites. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and were happy with the room (out back), the price, and the location. The room was exceptionally clean! I would have appreciated a protein source at breakfast, though, and peanut butter or hard-boiled eggs would be an easy addition. We'll stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I love this place. The owners have taken the sort of old-style motel I remember as a kid (right down to actual room keys with brass fobs) and made it funky and delightful with extra touches -- open, beam ceilings in some rooms or perhaps a grecian-style tub insert. Also with little things, like decent soap and an emergency sewing repair kit! The office entrance, with its fountain, its plants, and its enclosed patio, looks like something you'd find in Big Sur or Key West. And the folks who run the place are nice too -- good-natured and helpful. They obviously take pride in what they have. Everything is clean and well presented, and the lawns and gardens outside are actually worth wandering around. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.