We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Twilite Motel to your Saves list
Twilite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Call-in discount
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Lithia, FL
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Clean and Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The room was clean. It included a microfridge but no microwave. There was a laundry room. The breakfast included cereal, oatmeal, and pastries. The man at the desk was very helpful in suggesting eating locations. Hotels in the Acadia area are expensive, and this was the lowest price hotel with a good rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    68
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
89
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

for a great little motel with comfortable super clean rooms and lots of character. glad to support a mom and pop establishment in a quaint town in maine. will be back again! while in ellsworth, have a great coffee and browse the rooster brother store right down the road from the motel....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were touring with another couple on our motorcycles. The Twilite Motel was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and decorated very tastefully - like a mini Bed & Breakfast. The owner was so helpful to us. The weather was rainy on the day we were going to see Acadia and Bar Harbor, he helped us locate a rental car and made sure our stay was pleasant. Yes, it is an older motel and if you want to pay more for a fancy hotel, that is fine; but I still give this 5 stars for the value, cleanliness, and helpfulness of the owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaplin Island NB Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in September of 2012 after deciding on a whim to take a drive down Rte 1 from New Brunswick, Ca. We found the Twilite on Tripadvisor (then rated #2 for Ellsworth), and found exactly what had been described on the website by those that had given it a high rating.
It was very clean, well maintained, very friendly hosts, not very expensive, breakfast was included and given its age and history more reminiscent of another era than the boxy chain motels that are indistinguishable from town to town now adays.
This is my first review on Tripadvisor, and I post it to commiserate with small owners everywhere that have to deal with nasty anonymous posters that besmirch their establishments and the hard work that are put into them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This motel is very cozy and clean. It seemed to be the perfect little place to stay in New England. It's not rustic exactly...but cottagy. The rooms we had were a comfortable size, no's 9 and 10. We got a terrific off season rate for the week. The owner was super friendly and accomodating. The little breakfast room had instant oatmeal, various pastries and so on with good coffee or other hot beverages. We really loved it here and it was centrally located to sights in the area. We would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: 9 or 10 were good size...in the front row and very short walk to office/breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

So happy to have found this gem! Built in the 50s, it has some retro charm, well cared for by the couple who owns/operates it. We were very pleased with the fresh clean room, comfortable bed and well maintained bathroom. Shower, no tub. Continental breakfast selections satisfied us just fine. The best part was Chuck's care to recommend places to see & places to eat that we probably would not have discovered on our own. The next morning, enjoyed his greeting and interest in how the day turned out and where we were going next. Would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently were in need for an affordable ,clean and comfortable place to stay on 2 different occasions for 2 nights stay..we found this perfect cozy ,clean and convenient little motel and the owners were very,very nice and helpful All the necessary items in the room were provided..If the need arises again I hope they will will be able to provide a room for us..would recommend the Twilight Inn to others..

Room Tip: call ahead for vacancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.