We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Twilite Motel to your Saves list
Twilite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Lithia, FL
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Clean and Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The room was clean. It included a microfridge but no microwave. There was a laundry room. The breakfast included cereal, oatmeal, and pastries. The man at the desk was very helpful in suggesting eating locations. Hotels in the Acadia area are expensive, and this was the lowest price hotel with a good rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mathstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

for a great little motel with comfortable super clean rooms and lots of character. glad to support a mom and pop establishment in a quaint town in maine. will be back again! while in ellsworth, have a great coffee and browse the rooster brother store right down the road from the motel....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adda191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were touring with another couple on our motorcycles. The Twilite Motel was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and decorated very tastefully - like a mini Bed & Breakfast. The owner was so helpful to us. The weather was rainy on the day we were going to see Acadia and Bar Harbor, he helped us locate a rental car and made sure our stay was pleasant. Yes, it is an older motel and if you want to pay more for a fancy hotel, that is fine; but I still give this 5 stars for the value, cleanliness, and helpfulness of the owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpyderWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaplin Island NB Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in September of 2012 after deciding on a whim to take a drive down Rte 1 from New Brunswick, Ca. We found the Twilite on Tripadvisor (then rated #2 for Ellsworth), and found exactly what had been described on the website by those that had given it a high rating.
It was very clean, well maintained, very friendly hosts, not very expensive, breakfast was included and given its age and history more reminiscent of another era than the boxy chain motels that are indistinguishable from town to town now adays.
This is my first review on Tripadvisor, and I post it to commiserate with small owners everywhere that have to deal with nasty anonymous posters that besmirch their establishments and the hard work that are put into them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davyboy547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This motel is very cozy and clean. It seemed to be the perfect little place to stay in New England. It's not rustic exactly...but cottagy. The rooms we had were a comfortable size, no's 9 and 10. We got a terrific off season rate for the week. The owner was super friendly and accomodating. The little breakfast room had instant oatmeal, various pastries and so on with good coffee or other hot beverages. We really loved it here and it was centrally located to sights in the area. We would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: 9 or 10 were good size...in the front row and very short walk to office/breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

So happy to have found this gem! Built in the 50s, it has some retro charm, well cared for by the couple who owns/operates it. We were very pleased with the fresh clean room, comfortable bed and well maintained bathroom. Shower, no tub. Continental breakfast selections satisfied us just fine. The best part was Chuck's care to recommend places to see & places to eat that we probably would not have discovered on our own. The next morning, enjoyed his greeting and interest in how the day turned out and where we were going next. Would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently were in need for an affordable ,clean and comfortable place to stay on 2 different occasions for 2 nights stay..we found this perfect cozy ,clean and convenient little motel and the owners were very,very nice and helpful All the necessary items in the room were provided..If the need arises again I hope they will will be able to provide a room for us..would recommend the Twilight Inn to others..

Room Tip: call ahead for vacancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth
Comfort Inn Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
1.7 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#26 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#9 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ellsworth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#5 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing