We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Save Saved
You added Twilite Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twilite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off with phone reserv
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
New Brunswick, CANADA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this small privately owned roadside motel during labour day weekend 2012. The owner and his wife were very knowlegeable of the area and gave great tips and information on the area. The room was simple but spacious and clean with all the necessities. Breakfast was very convenient and filling. Great value for the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    63
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
80
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Twilite in October. We loved our room and enjoyed our stay. It was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast, especially the blueberry muffins, was delicious. The owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

nothing fancy but very clean. excellent owners, so friendly. this was not the first time here, i really enjoyed the peace and quite, cant stress the cleanliness , compared to other chain hotels. close to shopping in bangor and scenic Bar harbor . with nice shopping in ellsworth ! i will be returning

Room Tip: king room has fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Conveniently located, one mile from city center. Room nicely furnished and original, featuring low ceiling beams and irregular shape. Small breakfast room but lots of tables outside. Usual breakfast fare. Very nice people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Twilite Motel in Ellsworth. Check-in was fast and friendly, the owners gave us good recommendations for dinner. The room was very clean and good size. Parking is convenient at the front door of your room. The TV is older and there is no fridge or microwave. The location is good, about 30 minutes to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The breakfast was good and adequate, it is in a small room, but also outdoor covered seating. We enjoyed our stay at Twilite Motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Pleasant little gem, not on Mount Dessert but close enough, very clean, quiet, pieceful accomodations,elegant, big room. Walking distance from main street--about 1 mile with some great restaurants. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room "in the back."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This motel was our first experience with TripAdvisor and it was a gem! The room was clean and comfortable, the owners friendly and helpful, and both the indoor and outdoor (covered patio) settings were cozy for enjoying a decent continental breakfast. Because this was night #3 and #4 on our long-distance road trip, it was convenient to have a laundry room available. This room offered detergent, an ironing board, iron, and games/books. The basic rooms are small, but adequate if you're spending most of your time in Acadia or elsewhere in the area, and it has that old, Route 66 charm we always search out. Upon reaching home weeks later, we discovered that good friends have also stayed here and consider it one of their favorite off-water spots in Maine.

Room Tip: The original strip of rooms is closer to a busy highway, but there are newer, larger rooms in back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.