We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Twilite Motel to your Saves list
Twilite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Riverview
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

nothing fancy but very clean. excellent owners, so friendly. this was not the first time here, i really enjoyed the peace and quite, cant stress the cleanliness , compared to other chain hotels. close to shopping in bangor and scenic Bar harbor . with nice shopping in ellsworth ! i will be returning

Room Tip: king room has fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    69
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
89
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
378 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Conveniently located, one mile from city center. Room nicely furnished and original, featuring low ceiling beams and irregular shape. Small breakfast room but lots of tables outside. Usual breakfast fare. Very nice people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Twilite Motel in Ellsworth. Check-in was fast and friendly, the owners gave us good recommendations for dinner. The room was very clean and good size. Parking is convenient at the front door of your room. The TV is older and there is no fridge or microwave. The location is good, about 30 minutes to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The breakfast was good and adequate, it is in a small room, but also outdoor covered seating. We enjoyed our stay at Twilite Motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Pleasant little gem, not on Mount Dessert but close enough, very clean, quiet, pieceful accomodations,elegant, big room. Walking distance from main street--about 1 mile with some great restaurants. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room "in the back."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This motel was our first experience with TripAdvisor and it was a gem! The room was clean and comfortable, the owners friendly and helpful, and both the indoor and outdoor (covered patio) settings were cozy for enjoying a decent continental breakfast. Because this was night #3 and #4 on our long-distance road trip, it was convenient to have a laundry room available. This room offered detergent, an ironing board, iron, and games/books. The basic rooms are small, but adequate if you're spending most of your time in Acadia or elsewhere in the area, and it has that old, Route 66 charm we always search out. Upon reaching home weeks later, we discovered that good friends have also stayed here and consider it one of their favorite off-water spots in Maine.

Room Tip: The original strip of rooms is closer to a busy highway, but there are newer, larger rooms in back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The room was tiny, the bathroom was even tinier, and smelled stronly like mildew. The hotel is actually more like a bunch of small camping trailers put next to each other. Wasnt the cleanest hotel either. Location was good and for the area, was a good price, but you get what you pay for. I'd put in a few more bucks and get something a bit nicer. Continental breakfast was pretty sparse as well.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive place to spend a night near Acadia National Park prior to visiting the next day . Twilite Motel lived up to the reviews posted on T/A. Found the owners very helpful and hospitable, even allowing me to go through their change bucket in my search for US states commemorative 25c (and I found some I needed for my set). Breakfast was adequate and especially nice on the veranda. Bed was comfy and the setting with the trees in front with the easy chair really was very relaxing. Perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Road, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.