We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn, gracious innkeeper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilby House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilby House Inn
122 Water Street, Eastport, ME 04631   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Eastport B&B and Inns
Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming inn, gracious innkeeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great stay, clean as a whistle, neat as a pin, and decorated with great attention to detail. Breakfast is well prepared and we enjoyed speaking with the other guests and Greg, the innkeeper. Eastport is extremely interesting and, based on the downtown architecture, was obviously at one time a town of great prosperity and signficance. The herring and sardine fishing industry is now long gone, but the townspeople are putting in a great effort to maintain their community. Each time we visit the buildings look better and there are more restaurants and galleries. Eastport is well positioned to access surrounding nature sites by car or ferry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new brunswick
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

As other folks say...Greg is great. If you want a nice clean affordable place to bunk, you cant go wrong. If you want the Ritz...go to Boston. The only dissapointment of my Trip was the State of Maine and City of Eastports utter dissrespect for the preservation of heritage homes.....gorgeous 200 year old homes rotting away and housing pigeons. Ruined my trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We found Greg's home to be filled with the most pleasant decor. He welcomed us and gave us invaluable insight into our trip North. He suggested the best places to eat and how best to enjoy our trip up the Coast to Canada. His gourmet breakfast was the best on the trip by far. Eastport was a pleasant clean friendly little Maine town. We would say do not miss Eastport.
Gian & Vivian

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, IL
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Kilby House was clean and comfortable. Greg prepared the best breakfast ever. We felt like royalty! We even received an short but delightful organ concert. This is where we would stay when we visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

One of our best B and B stays. Our host was very welcoming, the room was clean and decorated nicely, the breakfast was on time,delicious and hearty, and we felt right at home. Highly recommend and we will definitely return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Recently stayed at the Kilby House in Eastport, Maine! Truly one of the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at ! Charming room- I had the front room facing the water with a canopy bed!
Inn Keeper, Greg was so nice and the breakfast was amazing! Highly recommend! I will go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Music lovers, historians, and romantics will love an escape to the quaint Victorian Kilby House. We were pleasantly greeted by the owner, a retired teacher and now Church organist/director, who has paid great attention to the historical details of the house. There were numerous pictures, antique furniture, many fabulous clocks, a pipe organ, a grand piano, many books and much, much more to enjoy..no need for a TV. We were able to relax while playing various instruments or sitting on one of the antique chairs in front of the fireplace and just talking..The proprietor had several recommendations for dinner and we selected a Mexican restaurant with authentic, tasty Mexican food..great food, a rather run down eatery, but friendly service..We took a walk around the town and noticed several people with instruments entering the Church hall to prepare for a concert, viewed the various architecture of the homes- some in the state of disrepair while others had been beautifully transformed and restored, and we felt safe and comfortable. A four poster bed, updated bathrooms..(each of the 3 bed rooms had their own) and soft bedsheets made for a restful night. At 8 in the morning we were treated to french toast, sausages, ample fruit, and hot coffee..can't wait to return..to discover more about Eastport, attend some concerts, and hear the owner's stories about the former Miss Kilby and her generosity to the children and the town, and of course stay at Kilby House..BAC

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilby House Inn

Address: 122 Water Street, Eastport, ME 04631
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Kilby House Inn Eastport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilby House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilby House Inn to your Saves list