We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel East Eastport Maine” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel East

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel East
Save
You added Motel East to your Saves list
23a Water St., Eastport, ME 04631   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Revere, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Motel East Eastport Maine”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Million dollar view when looking out the door to the deck completely deminished when you look in the room.....shabby, run down, dirty, mold in the bathroom, torn drapes, nasty towels and sheets and filthy rugs.....do not ake your shoes off. Overall not a good place to stay. We have stayed here many times but this will definitely be our last time. They say the only place in town but that isn't true.....many nice B&B's in Eastport....check them out. We stay on the third floor always because of the view but noticed very severe structural damage....enough not to sit out on the deck on an 80 degree day. I love the view but I will take cleanliness over the view any day.

Room Tip: Seek out one of the great B&B'S
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
13
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Desert, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Large room with nice water view but way past its prime. Screen door on the slider kept falling out and the sheets though clean had holes in them. The location is perfect but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

we have stayed here several times , both in the hotel and the house beside it, great easy access to everything ,shopping, FISHING, and friends

Room Tip: ask for a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I stayed at the Motel East with a friend in the middle of summertime. The motel is located a close walk to the downtown Eastport. The Motel East is right on the water and has a million dollar view of beautiful sunrises and Campobello Island, Canada. The Motel East is not fancy but it was very comfortable and spacious. The room was huge! The bathroom was very clean and very large. It was one of the biggest bathrooms I have ever seen. The beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly. She told us about a store that was open until 9pm so we could get alcohol and snacks. The area is very quiet and sleepy and the grocery stores close quite early. There are very few lodging options in Eastport. I would definitely stay at the Motel East again in this uniquie little Down East city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The motel was very disappointing...dirty, poorly furnished, and not at all worth the $105 a night we paid. We were on the lower level and had to traverse a stairway made of randomly placed stones... a lawsuit just waiting for someone to fall! The view might have been good if we'd been on a higher level, but it would not have been enough to compensate for the dust and lack of amenities (no coffee-maker, no reading light anywhere near the beds.) A prior guest had written "wash me" in the dust on the mirror, and the glass on the slider looked as if two dogs had licked it, one on each side! All in all, not a place we would ever stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The motel looks nice from the front, we were on the walk out level, there was definate structural damage. The floors were sloped,, the bathroom doors wouldn't shut. We were afraid it would cave in during the night. The screen door was ripped so mosquitos were coming in. We didn't enjoy our stay in this town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We booked two rooms. The beds were large, but with outdated sheets and blankets. Mattress was not great. Floor dirty by all standards. I think that one hundred-twenty-nine dollars per night per room was not worth it.

Dinner across the street at the “Pickled Haring” was very-very good (a reason to come back). Breakfast at the Blue Iris was basic, not so great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel East

Address: 23a Water St., Eastport, ME 04631
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Motel East Hotel Eastport
East Hotel Eastport
East Motel Eastport
Motel East Eastport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.