We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frozen, preprocessed food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blast From The Past

Blast From The Past
114 Sokokis Trl, East Waterboro, ME 04030
(207) 247-8005
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Waterboro, Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Frozen, preprocessed food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This 50s-style metal covered diner serves mostly preprocessed, frozen, thawed, and heated food. It is home to Friday evening vintage vehicle gatherings in warm weather that bring together devotes to that interest. The style of the restaurant differs greatly from the rural nature of the community in which it resides. We visited and ate there twice when it first opened, and have not returned.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

38% Recommend
    0
    5
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Prepackaged, preprocessed frozen stuff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The food is clearly Prepackaged, preprocessed frozen stuff that gets nuked or fried. While the prices are low and the ambiance 50ish (which I think is a big draw for a lot of people), the food is really not that great tasting and probably not very healthful. Cozy Corner has a much better menu , a friendly staff and better food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We ordered our food, got our drinks first and I started sucking down my chocolate milk. Halfway through my chocolate milk I noticed dead mosquitoes floating and immediately ran to the bath room and puked. Our food came and my husband and I decided not to eat and complained to the owner who only took $10 off our breakfast that we did not touch. We will never go back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flordia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfeast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The staff at Blast from the Past is great, the food is good and very good price.
Friday Nights there is a car show, over 60 cars the night we were there. We also had dinner that was good, but breakfast is the best

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Canned and frozen food?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Sorry folks the restaurant looks cool with its 50s theme but i cant get passed canned green beans frozen burger patty and frozen fish special.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blast From The Past also viewed

East Waterboro, ME
East Waterboro, ME
 

Been to Blast From The Past? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blast From The Past, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.