We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for seafood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lobsterman's Wharf

Lobsterman's Wharf
224 Ocean Pt Rd, East Boothbay, ME 04544-6027
(207) 633-3443
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok for seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had mixed reviews from our party - the steak was great, lobster and steamers great, but this is not the place to go for tuna. The tuna was a strange brownish khaki color and the few bites I took were not good. It was listed as grilled, blackened tuna, but it seemed overcooked and rather than blackening, it was coated in orange-y Cajun spices. If you are there for lobster and steamers, it's a fine place. The staff were very nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    11
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice scene, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

went on the weekend by boat for lunch. had a haddock sandwich, which is my pasion. it was ok, had to ask for the tarter sauce twice. staff was friendly enough, but could have anticipated needs a little bit better. view is outstanding, laid back scene. was not busy at all, not sure why though. smoking area allowed was set up such that those that didn't smoke got to enjoy some 2nd hand smoke. don't get me wrong in reading this review, i will go back again, not so much for food but for atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, away from the crowds of Boothbay Harbor area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I had a great dinner here just a few days ago and plan to go back before the week is out. This restaurant is tucked away, you have to be looking for the sign or you'll miss it but don't! Very unassuming old dock look to the exterior, main dining area nothing to get excited about, so try to get a spot on the deck. Our food was fantastic! I had baked stuffed haddock and it was delicious. My husband had clam chowder, which he said was the best he's tasted on this trip and he's tried A LOT! then he had the crab cake dinner, once again very good. What was a really pleasant surprise was the medley of steamed vegetables that accompanied the dinners in addition to a choice of potato. At last a restaurant in coastal Maine who knows veggies are not just cole slaw! They were very tasty, nicely steamed, not overcooked, huge portion. I took some home to eat for lunch the next day. One of the best meals we have had in 10 days in Maine. We will regurn here before we leave and will be back in future years. Don't miss it! If you like early dinners they have reduced prices on many dinner items from 3-6pm, very good deal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Boothbay
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

When the new owner took over the food was just so-so. But, over the last two years it has improved 100%. The ribs are outstanding!! We were there about two weeks ago and I have this really great dinner called Seafood Nage. It consisted of mussels, shrimp, scallops, lobster tail in a beautifully done creamy seafood sauce. I highly recommend this.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice location and Owner was nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Food was ok. We had the crab cakes and they were ok. The owner was nice and helpful. We suggested some sites to see since it was our first trip to Maine. Waitress was very responsive and helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobsterman's Wharf also viewed

East Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Lobsterman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobsterman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.