We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View - Needs Updates!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach to your Saves list
Sunset Beach
727 Ocean Point Road, Route 96 East, East Boothbay, ME 04544 (Formerly Smugglers Cove Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great View - Needs Updates!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The view and location of this place is great. The area of Boothbay is lovely and we'd definitely go back, but we would not stay here again. (A note that Boothbay is surprisingly dog friendly which was nice even though we didn't bring ours!) We did have a Groupon so the rates were reasonable, but this place needs a serious deep cleaning and some updates. We had booked 3 nights in a "Lantern" room overlooking the water, but it wasn't available when we arrived (someone decided to stay over an additional night) so we were "upgraded" to a room with a kitchenette "free of charge". There was a moldy sponge in there that made the entire room stink, and the bathroom and "kitchen area" were filthy (in both of our rooms). There were spiderwebs, mold, dust, etc. Couldn't wait to get home and wash everything we had! Extra pillows were provided but didn't even have pillowcases (ew!) so we didn't use them. Also - in the lantern room, it is advertised as having a "private" balcony. It's just separated by a board, so if you're hoping for a romantic evening alone watching the sunset, you may very well have your neighbors right beside you. The pool was okay - chairs were dirty (some broken) and "towels" provided were more of a washcloth size than anything you could dry off with. Lots of kids and families which was a little noisy at times (understandable - just something to note in case you're traveling as a couple). As for the restaurant, they did not offer breakfast as advertised, and even though we had a $15 credit (Groupon) we didn't go after hearing horror stories from other guests. They said they were out of everything (no buns for hamburgers, no wine, etc). One last note - there was never any close parking! Not that it's a big place, but if you go into town for dinner, be prepared to have to park at the last spot in the lot. This is a minor detail, but when you're carrying your luggage it can be frustrating.

Room Tip: We stayed in the anchor room and the lantern room. Lantern room (second floor) had higher ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    9
    11
    13
See reviews for
24
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We got a Groupon, how can people complain about such a deal?? This quaint hotel is located right on the water, very soothing. You can swim in the pool and look out over the harbor. It is close to Boothbay Harbor, where we dined one night, purused shops and took a boat cruise the next day. It is also near the beautiful Maine Coastal Botanical Gardens.
This inn is perfect if you are looking for affordable lodging away from crowds, right on the Maine coast. Bed was just adequate, walls may be rather thin. Loved the view off our deck! Overall kind of a "campy" feel (like the lodging of the 70's), but the room was newly painted and clean. It is dated but quaint and the staff are all very nice and friendly. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We got a groupon for this place for 2 nights, we only lasted 1!
The room was super old, very dusty (not sure when was the last time it was cleaned) and very smelly. The first night, aside from heading you neighbors tv through paper thin walls and dogs barking, we didn't sleep at all. I personally kept waking up every 15 min thinking some bed bug was going to attack me, the place felt so dirty. The bathroom was disgusting, i've been to porta-potties cleaner then that!
The town is great, but we just couldn't stay another night in that place, so we drove home and slept on our own bed..like a baby

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

They 'upgraded'us to a better room with kitchenette. I opened the cabinet next to the sink and discovered that I could see the ground outside! Told them and they stuffed the hole, and the next day, put some wood between the fridge and the cabinet. Could still see the outside. Then the bathroom sink pipes fell and we had water all over the floor. Then the sink faucet dripped all night long, until I put a washcloth under the drip! No outlets for me to plug in my laptop. They had to loan me an extension cord which plugged into an outlet over the stove. Only one light on the wall. and 2 lights on the nightstand. When we checked out, the owner said, "Oh here comes the complainer" Well we had reason to complain. Spiders behind the bathroom door, the walls need painting, plumbing is outrageous and where are the lights, outlets and sprinklers? We have enjoyed our stays there before, but until they get their act together, wont happen. Also, the chef in the restaurant needs a new apron, it was so filthy dirty. The milk served was curdled in our coffee. Yuk.

Room Tip: Dont choose room 12, it needs a good overall.clean and to be fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We arrived late but the front desk man called us so we were able to arrive after the office closed !
We by chance met a very nice man from Jordan who worked there. He happily helped us with our bags while escorting us to our room. I don't think he was even on duty at the time.
The room was pristine and the bed was comfy. The shower had great pressure. The A/C worked well. Mini fridge and keurig in room. Nice fluffy towels. Our room was right on the water.
The view was spectacular!!

I don't think they have a fitness center or room service but I was not looking for either.

Room Tip: Talk to woman in morning. She was more than glad to recommend a room to meet my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This motel is right on the water with beautiful views. When we went, it was still prior to the summer season so there were very few guests at the hotel and it was very quiet. A great place for some rest and relaxation. The rooms were large enough for four of us and we loved having a deck (not private tho) The restaurant was not opened when we went so I cannot comment on that. The kid at the front desk was very polite and helpful too.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

If you are looking just for views, good place to stay. otherwise pass this one up, There was no way to lock the sliding glass door in my room or my daughters room. The mgmt knew this when we checked in and didn't mention it. no phone in the room and when i tried on my cell i got no answer. when we spoke to her in the morning she said there was a stick near the door to put in the track to keep it from opening. its a 1x1" stick.
The outside doors are inside grade luan, you can see daylight around the edges. i was given a 45$ refund on my almost 500$ bill for my sleepless night
The property is old,you can tell, cleanliness and safety are a priority when I travel and I did not feel completely safe, the first night I stayed awake. If I could have found another place to stay i would have. Columbus weekend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach

Address: 727 Ocean Point Road, Route 96 East, East Boothbay, ME 04544 (Formerly Smugglers Cove Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove Inn is a quaint inn located just a few miles east of Boothbay Harbor. We have five different buildings to choose from, all of which have a gorgeous view of Linekin Bay from their private balconies. We have our own sandy beach and heated swimming pool that you can watch lobster men haul in their traps. Free WiFi, Pet Friendly, Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel East Boothbay
Sunset Beach Maine/East Boothbay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.