We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gluten free italian wow will be back soon - the pannacotta was divine !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assaggio Cafe

Assaggio Cafe
84 Newton Rd, Campbelltown, South Australia 5074, Australia
[08] 8336 5599
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“gluten free italian wow will be back soon - the pannacotta was divine !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a gem, usually I end up with a badly cooked bit of meat (most likely dusted in flour anyway) whilst I watch my family tuck into yummy pasta and pizza whenever we dine Italian. I was pleasantly surprised to discover at Assaggio there were many Gluten Free options (including any of the pasta dishes being made for you with GF pasta) and even the salt n pepper squid was G/F. All G/F and Vegetarian options were easily identified on the menu. The prices were excellent and the service great. Our waiter was a real gem and had everyone on the table smiling. Will go back again just for the pannacotta which was to die for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Almost like Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Shared a lovely meal with my family last night. The service was prompt and the food was delicious. Both children had Ravioli (their fave) and cleaned out the bowl, followed up by some tasty gelati! My husband and I shared an entree plate which inc a really nice variety, then followed up with gnochi and vitello impanata (crumbed veal with mushroom sauce), both extremely tasty! The wine list has good variety and price, so of course we had our fave SA Sparkling Red (Majella) at a price we thought was great!! The atmosphere is pleasant though as it is a busy venue it can get a little noisy, however all in all was a lovely evening. I will go back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“good service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A quality and reasonably priced menu. Good wine list. Waiters who know there menu and wines and give sound recommendations. They remember you and welcome you back on return visits. But it is in South Australia not NSW!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We went for a coffee... Ended up with a pizza- yum- two coffees - yum- and dessert!
They make most of the desserts there I think and gelato- all in a fancy display kitchen front of house...
Macaroons- yummy
Lemon curd something- even more yum!
Parking a bit limited but as longs the weather is nice you can park on the street surrounding.
Rest of the menu looks Good so we will definitely come back to try more
Or even just for a coffee..
Service friendly, and attentive but not over the top.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Wonderfull food in a buzzing atmoshere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went back for the nth time with the whole family (old to teens) 8 of us. It is family friendly, great selection for every taste, good prices including a very reasonable corkage and best of all very attentive service. Top marks if you like being in the midst of families and we do.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaggio Cafe also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Campbelltown, Greater Adelaide
 
Campbelltown, Greater Adelaide

Been to Assaggio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assaggio Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.