We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damariscotta River Grill

Damariscotta River Grill
155 Main St, Damariscotta, ME 04543-4649
207-563-2992
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great atmosphere, super friendly staff, wildly delicious dinners and desert- chocolate torte and blueberry sage sorbet. Reasonably priced. Fantastic blueberry soda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    54
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Reliable, tasty, locally sourced with great wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This summer finds us relying on the River Grill for reliably yummy food before or after arts events like the theater across the street. Sharon's wine list is as good as usual, with Riedel wine glasses enhancing the experience. Staff knows their jobs and will get you out the door if your time is limited. Try the thinly sliced steak salad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasurable Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a pleasurable meal at the Damariscotta River Grill. We were seated upstairs, by request. It was a bit noisy, but expected because the restaurant was very busy. Our waiter, Ryan, was very polite and very attentive. I had the salmon with rice and a touch of pickles which was delicious. My wife had the Paella which was very tasty. Our 1 son and daughter had the pasta with vegetables which they said was very good. The other son had the salad with steak which was excellent. Our son's friend had lobster ravioli which was excellent, as well. We all enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol Connecticut USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good over all with some exceptional moments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had a very nice dinner here tonight. Initially seated upstairs near the bar but found it a bit loud for our taste. We were reseated downstairs after a short wait and was much nicer for us. I had Duck confit on risotto, duck was great but risotto was a real dish licking triumph. Wife had steak salad, also very good. Another extra special item was the crab crepe appetizer, yum! Our waitress was a bit jumpy and seemed new but she worked hard to please us. A great finish to our vacation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best club sandwich I ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The turkey was thick, home style, not lunch meat. Delicious. Our family went there and we all enjoyed our lunch. Make sure you order the Broccoli salad side, that was really good too.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damariscotta River Grill also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Damariscotta River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damariscotta River Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.