We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damariscotta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
36 Pleasant Street, Damariscotta, ME 04543   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Damariscotta B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our week in the Cottage at Oak Gables is almost over and we are all very sad to have to leave. The cottage is a charming 3-bedroom, 2-bath cabin complete with full kitchen and comfortable living room withTV and wi-fi. Oh, yes, and an amaziing screened in front porch. The reason for the stay was for a reunion of sisters! There can be no nicer place to gather. The accommodations are wonderful and darling Damariscotta is only about a half-mile from the center of town. The gorgeous grounds and amazing view of the river immediately relieve all tensions. We planned our trip in time to enjoy Pumpkin Fest, which puts the small town in a frenzy. Not sure if I would come again for the fest, but most definitely would at any other time of year. Miss Martha is a State Treasure and the B&B should be on the National Register. Thankfully, the cottage is devoid of the kitschy fake flowers, wreaths and cinnamon pot-pourri! Although Miss Martha asked us not to do it (she says it's too hard to live up to her stellar 5-star reputation), we are giving her FIVE STARS!

Room Tip: Take the cottage if you want privacy and lots of room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We strongly agree with every good thing other reviewers have said about Oak Gables. Only a few blocks from town center, it feels like a country estate as you enter the beautiful 9 acre grounds. We stayed in the Guest Wing, a large and beautifully appointed lower level suite, complete with a full kitchen and private bath. The Guest Wing has an open view of the nearby river. Martha and Dickens (a five year old Scottie dog) treat guests as family. We consider Oak Gables among the finest B&B's we have visited, and heartedly recommend Oak Gables to those interested in a relaxing environment.

Additionally, there is a boathouse dock right on the rivers edge, a great place to relax, read, and enjoy the scenery. The dock is within a few steps of the main home.

Damariscotta is an ideal base location for the nearby sites of interest, including Boothbay Harbor, a short drive from the Inn.

Room Tip: We chose the Guest Wing because of outstanding views, large King size bed, privacy, and easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This delightful estate with its peaceful setting overlooking the Damariscotta River is the ideal spot to settle in for an extended stay. Oak Gables is close to the restaurants and shops of the charming villages of Damariscotta and NewCastle. Once we were relaxed and rested we also found the location convenient for day trips to the coastal towns of Rockland, Camden and Freeport. At the end of the day however, we appreciated our quiet retreat at Oak Gables with its soothing respite from the crowds. Our warm and gracious host "Aunt" Martha could not have done more to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. Martha is Oak Gables crowning jewel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Oak Gables is about 1/2 mile north of the town, and once through the entry the winding approach to the main house is charming, with a glimpse of the Damariscotta River through the trees. Martha is a most welcoming host and we recommend the Guest Wing with kitchen, private bath and a lovely open view of the river. We were too busy with friends to use the pool. Only niggle is that the decor and some furnishings are rather dated. Excellent Wifi and quiet at night. Definltely will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had never stayed at a B&B and wasn't sure what to expect. Fun, warm, friendly, clean - Fantastic! Stayed four days and loved it. Great location with an exceptional host. Delicious food was prepared with all the wonderful tastes of Maine. The property & grounds are exceptional. Oak Gables - The Way Life Should Be! I'll be back :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Oak Gables B&B for one night on our way to Bar Harbor, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Martha. Martha is awesome and we our headed back in July. Room and bathroom are very clean. The location is beautiful and close to downtown Damariscotta.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Oak Gables for only 1 night but thoroughly enjoyed it. Martha (and Dickens) are wonderful hosts and took great care of us. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated, clean and very quiet. Martha emailed us to find out when we would be there and had everything ready. She's a wonderful lady with a great sense of humor. She loves to laugh. The breakfast was also really good. Martha will spoil you. :)

The town of Damariscotta is very close by and has a nice assortment of shops and cafes. We stayed in Portsmouth NH and Belfast ME as well on this trip but would love to visit again someday with Martha at Oak Gables.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast

Address: 36 Pleasant Street, Damariscotta, ME 04543
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Damariscotta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Damariscotta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A winding driveway leads through stone pillars and up to the gracious oak-shaded home overlooking rolling fields, an apple orchard, and the meandering river. You’ll enjoy a delightful view from every vantage point, and the serenity of the setting will carry you back to a time of unhurried leisure. The grounds include a 20’ x 40’ pool as well as a boathouse perched over the river.Oak Gables is within strolling distance of downtown Damariscotta’s small Your hostess, Martha Scudder, has been welcoming guests to Oak Gables since 1987 and takes genuine pleasure in seeing that everyone feels completely at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast Damariscotta, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.