We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to enjoy fall colors!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damariscotta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
36 Pleasant Street, Damariscotta, ME 04543   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Damariscotta B&B and Inns
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
“Wonderful way to enjoy fall colors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Four friends and I shared the second floor of Oak Gables B&B for two nights. Innkeeper Martha Scudder was friendly, helpful, and a gracious cook and hostess. The Inn and outbuildings were all immaculate, charming, and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful to stroll. The views of the river are breathtaking. It had the feel of being far away from civilization, but was actually very close to tthe town of Damariscotta. It was a wonderful place to experience the fall colors! I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Lots of choices, from bedrooms with various size beds to studio apartments with one or two bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthasOak, Owner at Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I enjoyed having you here at Oak Gables and hope you'll return soon. It was fun to celebrate our birthdays together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cushing, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A well-run, freshly immaculate, and exceptionally comfortable bed and breakfast in midcoast Maine, Oak Gables without question deserves to be ranked as the best lodging in the Damariscotta area, and probably among the state’s top ten. But what it offers goes far beyond any conventional words of praise. It nestles on extensive, gently rolling, quiet green lawns under massive, sheltering oaks, two of its three houses overlooking a fascinating small tidal river and bay. Its rooms, especially the guest wing, have space, light, air, and splendid views. They show the mark of truly thoughtful, tasteful, and considerate management, with every amenity small and large. All of this is the work of its spirited and charming owner, Martha Scudder, who clearly thinks constantly and at length on what it takes to satisfy and delight her guests. Martha personifies not only the essence of what Maine has always offered, but also the generous human heart at its best. Oak Gables reflects those qualities in every detail. We commend it and her.

Gillian and John

Room Tip: Guest Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarthasOak, Owner at Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
I am lost for words! I will certainly try to live up to your overwhelming praise. Many, many thanks. Please come back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

During our 35 days on the road, the Oak Gables B&B was perhaps our favorite place to stay. Innkeeper Martha Scudder was most delightful and hospitable and gave us full use of the beautifully manicured property, including the boathouse area and the swimming pool. The grounds were gorgeous with a view of the river that was second to none and a historic pine tree. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully served with the added bonus of birdwatching from the window while we ate! Our room was clean and very comfortable. And we loved the town of Damariscotta where we had a waterfront seafood dinner.

Room Tip: We loved our Lilac room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thinking of you - miss you. Many thanks for the very nice review. I really appreciate your taking the time to write it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Oak Gables is a lovely B & B in a beautiful and peaceful setting, quite close to town yet affording you the tranquility of a perfect getaway. It is situated on the river, with gardens, magnificent trees and green fields and even a pool. The room was clean, comfortable and I slept quite soundly. Our inkeeper Martha was warm, welcoming and gracious and provided us with a delicious and ample breakfast. We enjoyed meeting Dickens as well, her delightfully well-behaved and charming Scottie. We relaxed and felt immediately at home. Defintely recommend the inn to all. We'll be back!
--Elizabeth

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review. I really enjoyed having both of you stay with me. I hope you'll return sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had the most wonderful experience staying at Oak Gables! From the moment we arrived, we felt at home, and loved getting to know our innkeeper, Martha. The inn was comfortable, welcoming, and a nice and easy walk into town to have dinner. Martha's dog, Dickens, also added to the enjoyment of our stay! While it was a bit cool while we were there to swim, the pool looked very inviting, and we enjoyed playing ping-pong in the game room of the boat house. The views of the river from the boat house were spectacular, and the entire property was well maintaned and beautiful to look at and enjoy. This is an inn we plan to return to! Shane and Jim

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for the very nice review. I really appreciate it. Dickens and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oak Gables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was our first visit in the area. We greatly enjoyed our long weekend stay at the Oak and Gables. The house and surrounding estate are so beautiful, quiet and relaxing but at the same time you can walk to town for shopping and excellent dinner options. We loved relaxing in the evening at the boat house on the river. Martha was wonderful and we enjoyed her breakfasts in the sunny nook and felt welcome and pampered like family. We also enjoyed a great night sleep, which is not something we take for granted in living in New York City. We cannot wait to go back next year and see Martha and the Oak and Gables again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks so much! Hope you can come back soon for another good night's sleep. Dickens and I will be waiting to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Excellent place to stay on the Damariscotta penninsula with access to route 1 and points North and South. 15 minutes to Pemaquid light and surrounding bay areas. The Innkeeper, Martha was accommodating and most gracious. Felt like I was at home with all the attention and excellent breakfast that came with the room. there is access to the e-world but who needs it when you are in a place like this. I recommend this to everyone who needs a respite from the hustle bustle of the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. Hope you'll come back soon for another escape from the hustle bustle world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast

Address: 36 Pleasant Street, Damariscotta, ME 04543
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Damariscotta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Damariscotta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A winding driveway leads through stone pillars and up to the gracious oak-shaded home overlooking rolling fields, an apple orchard, and the meandering river. You’ll enjoy a delightful view from every vantage point, and the serenity of the setting will carry you back to a time of unhurried leisure. The grounds include a 20’ x 40’ pool as well as a boathouse perched over the river.Oak Gables is within strolling distance of downtown Damariscotta’s small Your hostess, Martha Scudder, has been welcoming guests to Oak Gables since 1987 and takes genuine pleasure in seeing that everyone feels completely at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast Damariscotta, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.