We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Thai food but not the very best.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Thai Restaurant

Best Thai Restaurant
74 Main St, Damariscotta, ME 04543
207-563-1440
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 29 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waterville, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK Thai food but not the very best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We love Thai food and when we saw a Thai restaurant that boasts it is the BEST, we couldn't resist. To give you some background ... the setting is nice, a little crowded, but a nice on the porch eating option. The service was EXCELLENT! Our waitress was very polite, professional, and made us feel special. The food, however ... not so much. We ordered fresh spring rolls, and these came with a very nice sauce. However, the spring rolls had been made ahead as evidenced by the slightly dry and chewy rice paper wrapping. Our duck and seafood "main" dish lunches, we okay, but smaller servings than we are used to getting at other Thai restaurants. The duck was very good, seafood okay, but "sparse." On the whole, a nice place, but not spectacular. There are so many excellent Thai restaurants in Maine now I would skip this one and go for one of the others, like Sweet Chili Thai in Augusta.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Laurel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really Best Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had lunch here twice when we were in Damariscotta. Excellent food and service. We absolutely loved the Curry Puffs, but everything was great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not my fave”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

i always hate to write negative, but it was certainly not my favorite. maybe it wasnt up to par because it was a busy pumpkin fest weekend. the chicken satay was very dry and didnt have much flavor, and my togo order was not correct...... which is my pet peeve. i will try again to be fair, but first impressions are a big thing.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Thai - Best Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

First time this evening at Best Thai and it is truly very, very good. Food presentation is very creative. Friendly, upbeat staff with lots of personality. Cozy indoor and outdoor dining. We sat outdoors and it was lovely. This restaurant is truly needed in the area. Damariscotta has many good restaurants. Like other reviews, lots of seafood and American fare in town, so if you are looking for good Thai, come here.

You will not be disappointed in Best Thai.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The name does not lie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Amazing service, atmosphere, and most importantly The best Thai food I have ever eaten. I will be going back there often.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Thai Restaurant also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Best Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.