We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place for seafood, wonderful setting on the harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Landing Restaurant

Schooner Landing Restaurant
47 Main Street, Damariscotta, ME 04543
207-563-3380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 29 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leverett, MA
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Very nice place for seafood, wonderful setting on the harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We visited with a group of friends. We had a reservation (although on this week night we did not need it) and our table was ready for us. The name of the game was to have lobster and have it we did. We ordered the lobster dinner. The standard was claimed to be 1 1/4 pound lobster (boiled it seemed) with cole slaw and potatoes (either mashed, french fries or potato salad). One could substitute sweet potato fries for regular. The lobsters were tender, juicy and sweet - about as good as they get. The fries were nicely done, with the sweet potato fries done a bit more. The slaw was in a very small dish and was not like ordinary slaw. It seemed to have a bit of pineapple in it and very little mayonaise - which made it better than most. Others in our group had fish tacos and liked them. Another had sliders - little hamburgers - and liked them. Even after a lobster I had to try the clam chowder, made on site. It was superb - filled with tender bits of clam, nice potatoes and with tasty broth - not loaded with flour or other fillers. It had a bit too much pepper, but otherwise really was superb. If you visit this restaurant, you MUST try the chowder. One member of our party had a maple cheesecake and claimed it to be remarkably good.

All in all, this is a good place for seafood. The staff is very nice and aims to please. There is a screened porch directly facing the water and there is additional non-screened space for many people. If there is little wind and you are there at dusk, opt for the porch to avoid mosquitoes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    12
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Fresh fish, sitting on a dock overlooking sailboats and the Damarascotta river. My son had swordfish that was just off the boat. My daughters clams were spectacular. Oysters fresh from the river and fish tacos to write to trip advisor about. Great price. Simple and perfect.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lunch Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My family and I enjoyed a late lunch at the Schooner Landing.

My husband had a fried haddock sandwich. While it was very drippy (butter on the roll?) it was delicious. My daughter enjoyed her beef sliders ( I know, beef on the dock? My bad!). I had a tasty Caesar salad with lobsta on top. Simple, but nice in the land of fried seafood.

Our waitress was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
“Best oysters in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience. The staff -from the oyster shucker to the bartenders to management - were first rate and fun. Thank you for a beautiful evening!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful food, good service, great setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a fun restaurant. We were a party of seven, but got great and fast service. The oysters were the best we have had in Maine. Our waiter, Just Jeff, was a lot of fun. He knew the menu, got the thirsty crowd their drinks right away and our food came quickly. We were happy campers The salads were nice and fresh. It was great to be right in the harbor. The homemade blueberry pie was a lovely way to end the meal. We will be back! The atmosphere was friendly and laid-back. we will be back and heartily recommend Schooner Landing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Landing Restaurant also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Schooner Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Landing Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.