We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic clam shack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calders Clam Shack

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Calders Clam Shack
108 North Rd, Chebeague Island, ME 04017-3230
207-846-5046
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classic clam shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Pull up or ride into the dirt parking lot and dine at the picnic tables nearby. Really great fried clams, lobster rolls and the fried scallops are FANTASTIC!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern NJ
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“We Enjoyed our Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We recently visited Chebeaque Island for a wedding. Saturday morning we set off with our two adult daughters to explore the island. We arrived at the Clam Shack just as it was opening for the day.

Since it is literally a shack, we were surprised at how good our lunch was. My older daughter had a grilled chicken sandwich, my husband had a grilled chicken Caesar wrap, and my younger daughter and I had Greek salads, hers with grilled chicken and mine with ham. All the chicken was cooked so that it was moist. Our salads had a variety of greens and cheeses, not the traditional Greek salad, but extremely fresh and delicious. They came with a Greek dressing that they make onsite.

Drinks come from a vending machine, $1.75 for a Pepsi product 20 ounce.

Service was very friendly. We struck up a conversation with the woman who took our orders.

The Clam Shack has wifi. Seating is a picnic tables, some with canopies overhead. There are no bathrooms.

We were more than pleasantly surprised by the quality of our lunch in this obscure spot on an island.

Unless my younger daughter has been able to change it, the Google location is wrong, putting the Clam Shack across from the church.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is literally a shack that serves a nice variety of fried seafood and other kinds of lunch items. The fried haddock sandwitch was freesh haddack and a good batter. Seating is picnic tables or the ground. Judging by the number of people there it is a very popular island spot, one of the few to eat lunch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chebeague Island
1 review
“Clamtastic Awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Calders Clam Shack is a must for any traveler to Chebeague. The clams are pure awesomeness and the "Chebeaguer" so good I had to go back twice, in one week!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good in surprising areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

When you go to a Maine clam shack you know what to expect. Excellent fried seafood. Calder's has that, but the surprise is the rest of the menu is really good. If Calder's was a restaurant in downtown Portland, the salad would be good. For a clam shack in the middle of an island, it is astonishing. I have heard from locals that the pizza and subs are also worth a try. The cookies and ice cream are a personal must-have for the walk back to the boat.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calders Clam Shack also viewed

 

Been to Calders Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calders Clam Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.