We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cape Porpoise Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Porpoise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cape Porpoise Motel
Save
You added The Cape Porpoise Motel to your Saves list
12 Mills Rd., PO Box 7218, Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks, ME 04014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Porpoise
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very nice and simple motel unit made especially pleasant by a) lovely owners b) home baked breakfast goodies and c) it's location. Although only a couple of miles physically away from the touristy Kennebunks, metaphorically it is miles and miles away - and all the better for it. Lovely quiet location next to some fantastic and simple food options.

The units are somewhat small but functional. Clean and presentable are the name of the day. No noise could be heard from other units and looking at the other clientele they seemed a discerning bunch.

A little gem - plain, simple & honest.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We came from Europe with our 9 and 11 year olds for a few days by the beach, ending a busy 2 week stay in the US. We stayed in the mini apartment and it was perfect for us- simple but comfortable and clean. We were made most welcome by John, and enjoyed excellent hospitality including the legendary baked breakfasts which were fantastic.

If you don't know the surrounding area, we found the beaches excellent and also took a trip inland to lake Sebago which was spectacular for swimming. The local restaurants are very good indeed - we ate like kings, main(e)ly on lobster- it wasn't expensive- and we tried three different places: all good and all less than 15 minutes walk from the motel.

Most enjoyable, we will definitely be back when we are next in North America - John made us really welcome, including lending us a map and taking the time to suggest good places to visit, and we would wholeheartedly recommend this lovely motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband, our 11 year old daughter, our dog and myself stayed here over Columbus Day weekend. We stayed in the efficientcy apartment. The apartment was very clean and homey. We liked that we were able to make our own meals in the little kitchen instead of going out to eat every night. Breakfast was lovely...baked goods as well as bagels, hot and cold cereals, tea, coffee and juice. The Motel is in a great location close to Kennebunkport and Goose Rocks beach. Cape Porpoise is a small jem of a town lovely and quiet. We are so happy we found the Cape Porpoise Motel and hope to revisit on our next trip up to Maine.

Room Tip: our apartment was perfect for two adults, our 11 yr old daughter and our dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband, myself and my dog checked into this lovely B & B. The owners of this establishment, Debra and John couldn't have been more helpful. Their hospitality was over the top. And not to mention the delicious coffee and homemade goodies that were served for breakfast. The scones were my favorite! The room had double beds and our bed was so comfortable. There was a mini fridge and a window in the restroom! The shower was the best! The room was cozy and immaculate. It was perfect! It was our first Maine vacation and being able to stay in a nice and safe place, made all the difference in the world. We were able to bring our dog and were charged a small fee. Some hotel chains charge a lot of money for that. I found this to be more than reasonable. Thank you Debra and John for making this a vacation to remember and we can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is an utterly charming 7-unit B & B on the road outside of the center of Kennebunkport (but still pretty close by). We stopped here for one night on our way to Bar Harbor and -- this is the real test -- we would gladly stay here again. It is clean and comfortable with the usual amenities. The proprietor, John, is friendly and helpful. Our only regret was that we missed his world famous blueberry pancakes in the morning, Make sure and ask him about his blue jay story.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in the motel for a week last year and can't wait to get back in a weeks time.Very clean and cosey. John & Debra are first rate hoteliers. An assortment of freshly baked mufins and breakfast foods, cereal, fresh fruit and coffee and tea available all the time. Clean towels every day.

Room Tip: There are rooms with two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I checked into the cozy efficiency unit at the Cape Porpoise Motel and within minutes my blood pressure lowered, the ocean air filled my lungs, and my outlook for a great week in Maine started on the right foot.

Debby and John continue to improve their already excellent air of hospitality and genuine care for the comfort and satisfaction of their "friends" (not guests). The Motel is one of southern Maine's best "secret locations". Within minutes to the heart of Kennebunkport - it is once of the most peaceful corners of New England you can find. Three great restaurants within walking distance, an old fashioned multi purpose grocery store that serves as Post Office, Liquor Store, and butcher shop (Bradbury Brothers) and the best little ice cream parlor you can find (The Cape Porpoise Creamery).

Enjoyed the home prepared breakfast service - with fresh from the oven Strawberry Rhubard Crumb Cake, muffins, and super coffee.

Forget the places on the beaten path and make this "your" motel. Tell them John from Virginia sent you!

Room Tip: If you are alone or as a couple - the efficiency unit is for you. Try to grab it. I think they need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cape Porpoise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Porpoise Motel

Address: 12 Mills Rd., PO Box 7218, Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks, ME 04014
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Cape Porpoise
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Porpoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Cape Porpoise Hotel Cape Porpoise
The Hotel Cape Porpoise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cape Porpoise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.