We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to a favorite place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cape Porpoise Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Porpoise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cape Porpoise Motel
Save
You added The Cape Porpoise Motel to your Saves list
12 Mills Rd., PO Box 7218, Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks, ME 04014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Porpoise
Vienna
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Back to a favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I checked into the cozy efficiency unit at the Cape Porpoise Motel and within minutes my blood pressure lowered, the ocean air filled my lungs, and my outlook for a great week in Maine started on the right foot.

Debby and John continue to improve their already excellent air of hospitality and genuine care for the comfort and satisfaction of their "friends" (not guests). The Motel is one of southern Maine's best "secret locations". Within minutes to the heart of Kennebunkport - it is once of the most peaceful corners of New England you can find. Three great restaurants within walking distance, an old fashioned multi purpose grocery store that serves as Post Office, Liquor Store, and butcher shop (Bradbury Brothers) and the best little ice cream parlor you can find (The Cape Porpoise Creamery).

Enjoyed the home prepared breakfast service - with fresh from the oven Strawberry Rhubard Crumb Cake, muffins, and super coffee.

Forget the places on the beaten path and make this "your" motel. Tell them John from Virginia sent you!

Room Tip: If you are alone or as a couple - the efficiency unit is for you. Try to grab it. I think they need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in August. Accommodations are basic but very comfortable. The owners are very friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a good value place to stay on the quiet side of Kennebunkport, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky to find a room at the last minute and the owner having to go check on the ice cream shop just told us to come to the motel and settle in our room. No waiting around! We were pleased by our room that had a decent size bathroom ( good showerhead and water pressure). The bedroom had a queen bed plus a smaller bed . It was equipped with a refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave oven , air conditionning. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was available for pickup in the office. Continental breakfast, fresh fruit and baked goods prepared by Deborah.
A nice lawn in front with a barbecue, tables and chairs available to all made us feel at home. A very good value !
We certainly will return to the motel run by such nice, friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just came back from our third stay at the Cape Porpoise Motel. Once again,John and Debra have outdone themselves with the wonderful service, not to mention those great breakfast offerings. This place has a gentility which most of us wouldn't think of finding in a typical 'motel,' but, then again, this is not a typical motel. Thanks again, John and Debra!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I visited Kennebunkport a few weeks prior and stayed at Rhumb Line Resort. We enjoyed the area so much (specifically Saco and Ogunquit) and wanted to stay somewhere inbetween the two areas, so we found this hotel. It was better than Rhumb Line and much cheaper. That being said, I still feel indifferent towards it. The rooms were spotlessly clean and had a nice beach-type decor. Some things were a bit outdated (the furniture and TV) but it wasn't a big deal. The bathrooms were also very clean, but the room I stayed in had a strange problem with gnats. Being so close to the water, I'm not surprised with the bugs, though. There is a small breakfast with muffins and fruit in the morning. Overall, there wasn't anything terrible about our visit, but I'll look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

it's simple relaxed and clean.. the owners were very nice... our Australian Shepherd played with their Australian Shepherd which is really cool... Internet service was a little dicey but we got over it.... we were not far from Kennebunkport which was good we like to be a little bit away from the town to get away from the stuffiness... also the owners of cape porpoise opened up a little ice cream shop down the road... you have to try the moose tracks with some caramel on top I was drooling

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisonville, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stop at this little gem every time I visit the area. John and Deb are always very welcoming, and offer clean rooms with the expected amenities and comfortable beds. Bathrooms are a bit small but not uncomfortably so. Cape Porpoise is a scenic working port, and in season has a number of places to eat, and the beaches are quite close. This is a very good alternative for those who prefer a smaller, quieter Maine experience.

Room Tip: I prefer the small efficiency equipped with a full sized refrigerator, and cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cape Porpoise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Porpoise Motel

Address: 12 Mills Rd., PO Box 7218, Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks, ME 04014
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Cape Porpoise
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Porpoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Cape Porpoise Hotel Cape Porpoise
The Hotel Cape Porpoise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cape Porpoise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.