We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cape Porpoise Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Porpoise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cape Porpoise Motel
Save
You added The Cape Porpoise Motel to your Saves list
12 Mills Rd., PO Box 7218, Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks, ME 04014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Porpoise
Ri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and i stayed here last week, it was a nice little motel with just 7 rooms and a cottage. It's set back from the road a bit so traffic noise was not an issue. At night you can actually hear the ocean surf off in the distance and the little fog horns too. The room was average size for a motel of this kind, the bathroom too. They could probably use a new coat of paint on the walls, especially in the bathroom were there was some pealing (but nothing that bad..i've seen a lot worse), but everything was super clean and neat as a pin. The room was always clean and fresh towels provided daily. The best part is of course the yummy homemade breakfast treats. They make these great little cinnamon rolls and blueberry muffins that were scrumpious.
One note that should be made is that this is a dog friendly motel. This is a great plus if you are traveling with your furry friend, but can be a con for those without.
All in all i would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This little motel was perfect in every way. The rooms were very clean with many updates. The beds, soft and cozy. I slept so sound. One thing that could be improved is maybe a bit of WD40 for the doors. When the folks next door closed their door it shook the whole building! Other than that I really enjoyed my stay and will go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We recently stayed in the efficiency apartment with our 1-yr-old son. It was absolutely perfect for us. It was our first time to Maine and Debra and John did everything they could to make it a wonderful stay for us. When we arrived, Debra helped us carry in the luggage. As promised in advance, they let us use their grandson's pack-n-play and high chair for the duration of our stay and it made everything soo much easier.

The efficiency apartment is simple, plain and nothing fancy, but we plugged in our outlet covers and it was just right for us. The air conditioning was perfectly sufficient, the water gets hot fast, the room was very quiet. The bedroom is split off by just a curtain, but we brought our white noise machine for our son so it worked just fine that he would sleep while we were still awake. The whole apartment has curtains so you can keep it fairly dark till everyone is ready to rise. The bedding and fancy cloth shower curtain are another nice touch - not your typical "motel" decor. The unit is fully stocked with dishes and while we would be out for the day, they would come in and replace them (as well as towels, etc.) I guess they even noticed the bottle of wine we'd brought in because magically one afternoon, a wine glass appeared. The microwave is very high-powered and appeared to be brand new.

The location can't be beat - very close to Goose Rocks Beach, we were there almost every day. The massive beach umbrella that Debra and John surprised us with for use while we stayed there (plus beach chairs) made all the difference to make this a fantastic beach vacation. It was our first trip with a baby and we were able to stay out on the beach all day every day thanks to the umbrella. Just a really nice touch on their part.

They have one or two dogs that we hardly saw, as well as a cat. Also, there is a brick fireplace and nice grill available for guest use in the middle of the yard. This was another nice touch, we made delicious turkey burgers one night. There is an assortment of outdoor furniture in the yard and it seemed most of the guests would enjoy breakfast out there. The breakfast itself was ok - I was a little underwhelmed because based on the reviews here, I was expecting a 4-star spread, but they really do do a great job with it. Warm, homemade pastries and such. I really did appreciate the cereal selection - a lot of healthy, high-fiber options and when my favorite ran out, it was replaced the next day.

Overall, it was not a fancy place but we didn't book it looking for our usual high-end accommodations so everything about the stay actually far exceeded our expectations. We just wanted a relaxed, affordable and mellow week at the beach with our baby. The price combined with everything we enjoyed during our stay as described here just can't be beat. We plan to return.

Room Tip: the efficiency apartment has everything you need for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a classic motel that reminds me of my childhood in New England -- only cleaner! There is nothing fancy about this place. It's not a 4-star hoity toity establishment. This is for people who want a clean, comfortable, quiet place to sleep, near the attractions they came to see. Even when we had loud neighbors talking boisterously outside, or playing their TV on elebenty-one, once we turned on the air conditioner and shut the door, we could not hear a thing. The air conditioner was perfectly capable of getting our room COLD (I can't handle being too hot or too humid). The motel is two miles from one of the nicest beaches in all of New England (Goose Rocks Beach), and there are several really good restaurants within walking distance. I highly recommend this motel for anyone looking for a good travel deal. I'm very glad I ignored the one negative review.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were 3 adults who stayed at the Cape Porpoise Motel in August 2011. Quiet location, fabulous homemade breakfasts, warm and attentive hosts. Best quality/price deal in town. With only 7 units, we consider ourselves lucky to have stayed here. Thanks John and Deb for everything.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our second stay at the Cape Porpoise Motel and once again, I cannot say enough good things about it. The accommodations were first-rate, very clean and comfortable, and John and Debra could not do enough for any of their guests. The breakfasts were excellent, all home-made breads and muffins, fresh-cut fruit salads, along with coffee and juices, and there was always plenty available. The location of the motel is perfect-in a quiet, beautiful village, accessible to the busier tourist attractions. We look forward to returning there next summer and highly recommend the Cape Porpoise Motel to anyone looking for a great place to stay on the Maine coast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

the cape porpoise is a true gem located just outside of kennebunkport. john and debra are wonderful hosts and their hotel is spotless and comfortable. don't miss their breakfast especially the coffee cake made with raspberries picked from the property. and to add to the fun, nunan's lobster pound is located just across the street and it was divine! we will definitely come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cape Porpoise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Porpoise Motel

Address: 12 Mills Rd., PO Box 7218, Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks, ME 04014
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Cape Porpoise
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Porpoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Cape Porpoise Hotel Cape Porpoise
The Hotel Cape Porpoise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cape Porpoise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.