We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great prices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wayfarer

The Wayfarer
2 Pier Rd, Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks, ME 04046
+1 207-967-8961
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This small restaurant has a limited menu with great selections and you can bring your own wine. I entertained some friends here and were were all very pleased.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    17
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very cute, quaint cafe!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had breakfast at The Wayfarer for the first time on the Sunday of Labor Day Weekend. We arrived shortly before 9am, and although they were busy, we were seated within 10 minutes. They had coffee out on the porch for people to help themselves to while waiting. There is nothing that particularly stands out about this place, yet it still somehow had a very cozy atmosphere, and was one of the closest options to Goose Rocks Beach, where we were staying. The meal was good, I had the smoked salmon bagel and thought it was quite tasty. The coffee was excellent. It is located in picturesque Cape Porpoise, so after breakfast we took a nice walk out to see the lighthouse, about a 1/2 mile away. Just an overall "homey, quaint" feeling place. We will be back on our next trip!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Way Too Expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Selected this place for dinner. The food was good, but $20 for a bowl of lobster stew in Maine was way too expensive for my way of thinking. Waitress was "cold." Wish we had gone somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot and kid friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I took our 21 month old tornado of a daughter to Kennebunkport the week prior to Labor Day. A family member suggested All Day Breakfast as a kid-friendly local restaurtant that serves breakfast -- surprisingly difficult to find in this vacation area. We were disappointed in the quality of the food there, not to mention a guaranteed wait to be seated, and asked the locals for another suggestion.

The Wayfarer in Cape Porpoise, less than 10 min drive from Kennebunkport, was a terrific find. It's a small, friendly restaurant that serves tasty omelettes, scrumptious pancakes and french toast. The quality of the food is very good (e.g. real mushrooms, maple syrup, etc.) and the wait staff is always friendly, even though they are frequently streteched to the limit. It is kid-friendly, too. My only gripe is the weak coffee, though I do like rocket fuel in the am so others may not take issue.

FYI: $10min for credit card charges. And beware, the local PD loves to set speed traps between Kennebunkport and Cape Porpoise.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fu waitresses and yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This adorable little restaurant is nestled in the tiny town of Cape Porpoise, 3 miles from Kennebunkport, ME.The food is great...homemade muffins and pies, omelets are the best of any place I have traveled, waitresses are fun, friendly, even wear fried egg earriings...nonmatching socks, and always wear a smile on their faces!!!! Open all year round and frequented by locals that live here. Love it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wayfarer also viewed

 
Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks
Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks
 

Been to The Wayfarer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wayfarer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.