We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hot Dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flo's Steamed Hot Dogs

Flo's Steamed Hot Dogs
1359 Route 1, Cape Neddick, York, ME
(800) 255-8401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Restaurant details
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Hot Dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Every time my family goes to Maine, we stop at Flo's. The steamed hot dogs with special sauce is a taste delight. I always have a can of Moxie with mine. Open year round, closed on Wednesdays, this is a stop is a must. Be prepared for long lines during the peak season.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yum! Best visit to Flo's yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I arrived early enough on Saturday to place our order AND sit at the counter. We're "from away" and enjoy taking in the accents, friendly locals, hot dogs w/ special sauce like no one else's. Can't wait for our next visit to Maine. This place really hits the spot!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Like no hot dog you've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As part of our travels up the coast of Maine, we made it a point to stop at a number of small, local dining spots. My daughter's boyfriend, a native to the area, said that Flo's was a must-eat destination.

Unless you knew about it, this is probably not a place you would pull in to. It's small, with a few picnic tables next to the building. Inside, the ceiling is oddly sloped and ridiculously low. As you enter through the door, it set fairly normal height. But as you walk through the narrow room that runs along in front of the counter, the height decreases. At only 5'11", my head nearly touched the ceiling at the far end.

Behind the counter works a single server, the granddaughter of the eponymous Flo who now operates the restaurant. You can order anything you want, as long as it's a hot dog. You basically have a few choices about what gets piled on your dog. As the menu announces, 95% of customers go with the Special, which includes mayonnaise and her special spicy sauce. I decided to go for the Loaded instead, which includes relish and other condiments. As it turns out, I should've gone with the Special, which everyone else in my party did.

Instead of a traditional hot dog bun, these are served on what looks like a folded slice of bread. My daughter's boyfriend explained that that's fairly standard in the area. You can order chips to go with your hot dogs (be sure to order at least two). We knew to bring our own large bags with us.

The flavor of the sauce really is something unusual. Not really that spicy but definitely very interesting and delicious. I'd always heard about Moxie soda, but was surprised to see that not only is it available at Flo's, it's featured prominently in her refrigerator case. Several of us got one. It's vaguely like Dr. Pepper, but not so sweet. We all enjoyed them, but several people felt it left an odd aftertaste.

There's no place to sit down inside the restaurant. If you go during foul weather, you'll have to sit in your car or take the hot dogs home with you. We had the good fortune to be there on a beautiful fall afternoon, and sat at one of the small number of outdoor picnic tables.

There were a few people in line when we got there, but when we left mid-Saturday afternoon, the waiting area was filled.

For true local flavor and an inexpensive meal, this is a great place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A dog is a dog except....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The only way to go here is "the Special". The short hours, ordering procedure and dive looking structure are all part of the lure and experience. Low on frills but worth the wait and the $2.50. It's a one of a kind. If it's just mustard you want go to Nathan's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Un-accommodating hours!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

You should know that they close at 3! :( Missed them by less than 10 minutes on the way in and 20 minutes on the way home. Plan accordingly if you're jonsing for a famous Flo's hotdog in a steamed bun!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flo's Steamed Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Flo's Steamed Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flo's Steamed Hot Dogs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.