We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Mile Lobster - CLOSED

Four Mile Lobster
1901 US Route 1, Cape Neddick, York, ME 03902
+(1)(207)251-0001
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sandwiches
Description: *We're now CLOSED for the season. Thanks for a great year and we hope to see you in May!* Out-of-the-ocean fresh lobster rolls. Friendly service. Free, plentiful parking. Four Mile Lobster is a small cafe currently based in the back of Knight's Quilt Shop on Route 1 in Cape Neddick, Maine. Opened in 2013, our mission is to provide not only the best lobster roll but also the best customer service. We hope to provide an inviting atmosphere for all people coming in whether it is your first lobster roll, or you are a lobster roll connoisseur! We also provide some other sandwiches for those who don't prefer lobster. You will find Maine made gifts and goodies throughout our store. We appreciate all of our customers and hope to see you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: *We're now CLOSED for the season. Thanks for a great year and we hope to see you in May!* Out-of-the-ocean fresh lobster rolls. Friendly service. Free, plentiful parking. Four Mile Lobster is a small cafe currently based in the back of Knight's Quilt Shop on Route 1 in Cape Neddick, Maine. Opened in 2013, our mission is to provide not only the best lobster roll but also the best customer service. We hope to provide an inviting atmosphere for all people coming in whether it is your first lobster roll, or you are a lobster roll connoisseur! We also provide some other sandwiches for those who don't prefer lobster. You will find Maine made gifts and goodies throughout our store. We appreciate all of our customers and hope to see you soon!
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fun experience, feels like home as you are interacting with the fisherman's son. Great service and the food is fresh and very tasty.

Just off US-1, worth the detour!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious lobster rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Choose your lobster roll three different ways (natural, with mayo, with mayo and celery), grab chips or an apple and sit down at the picnic table outside and enjoy. Mayo is light and allows the lobster to be the star. While there's a couple of alternate food options, lobster roll and some stash reinforcement at the quilt shop makes it a very worthy stop.

This back of the quilt shop lobster joint is a family affair. John (whose art graces the walls) and his wife Michelle are friendly with prompt service. John's mom owns the quilt store out front, and his dad works the lobster traps. Who would guess that a corner of lobster paradise hides behind those trees on Route 1? There's oodles of places to get good lobster rolls in Maine, but this one is worth a repeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZINGLY FRESH LOBSTER ROLL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just off Highway 1 and tucked behind a Quilting Shop this family run business offers great customer service and a truly exceptional Lobster Roll.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Such a cool experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit here! We drove to the lighthouse and then wanted to experience some authentic Maine lobster. It was absolutely delicious! They helped the North Carolinians order the right thing too :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a Lobster Roll Should Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first stop after arriving in York Beach on our first trip to Maine. We made the choice based on Trip Advisor reviews and the fact that we landed there at lunch time! This is a true lobster roll...tons of lobster meat on a delicious toasted roll and you can choose one of three ways to enjoy it. It is located behind the Quilt Shop on Route 1 but easy to spot driving south to north. Don't miss it. The young couple who own the business are friendly and warm and were happy to share information on what to see in the area and where to eat dinner as well. In 5 days, 4 of us ate 8 lobster rolls and each one was delicious. This is a must visit when you're in the southern Maine beach area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Mile Lobster also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Mile Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.