We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor management, rude owner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of lucias kitchen

lucias kitchen
1151 us rte 1 P.O.Box 546, Cape Neddick, York, ME 03909
207 363 5557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican, Vegetarian, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Lucia's Kitchen is a very casual, eat in or carry out restaurant. Our Menu changes with the day and seasons and therefore don't have a "set" menu, we encourage our customers to call for information about our menu. Orders are taken at the counter and delivered to tables, or packed to go. We also offer catering either on premise or off site.
Newport, RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Poor management, rude owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a restaraunt.com certificate which never expires. I presented it before ordering. After waiting for my food to BR warmed, I was told by the owner "we no longer accept those." Really? Are you kidding me? It is explicitly stated on the certificate. "That's their problem".

I eat out often with my family in/around York. We have owned a summer home here for decades. I am also a business professional. I have never been treated so rudely. I have crossed this establishment off my list permanently. Truthfully, it looked overpriced and dirty.

I'd recommend the cafe at Stonewall Kitchen, York Harbor Inn (downstairs pub), Shore Rd. Mkt. for breakfast or lobster roll, Union Bluff Pub, When Pigs Fly. The list is endless in the area.. Skip this rude joint!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not your typical menu options, good food and comfortable atmosphere to relax and enjoy meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I have seen this restaurant many times and decided to stop and give it a shot. My meal was good and I liked the environment. I believe it is worth trying for something different.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luluvel, Owner at lucias kitchen, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
thank you for deciding to stop by, we are very happy that you like Lucia's kitchen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lucia's is a creative little restaurant almost across Route 1 from the Lobster Barn and Lobster in the Rough. Lucia's family still lives in Mexico and she trained as a pastry chef at the White Barn Inn. She makes absolutely fantastic Mexican dishes and always has extremely creative offerings. I garontee you will not be disappointed; try to stop by on Thursday nights, Lucia's always has a nice prix fix offering that will never leave you hungry or disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food , even better prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Lucias Kitchen was a surprise find for me when I started looking for restaurants serving organic and naturally made food in the Ogunquit area . Its a take out kind of place with a few tables . The host Lucia , is always there to greet you with a smile . But more importantly the food is awesome . Everything is made from scratch and very flavorful . The meats are tender and the vegetables are crisp . I like how they are so environmentally conscious, every aspect of the restaurant shows this . I have to stop here for lunch every time I go down to the beach .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luluvel, Owner at lucias kitchen, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you! It means so much to me and my staff to see that are people who appreciate our craft, we do cook from our hearts!
Sincerely,
Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great lunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love everything about Lucia's from the casual atmosphere, easy ordering, compostable plates and "real" flatware, interesting and delicious food and Lucia herself..always friendly and happy to see you. The bean burritos were exceptionally flavor full. The tastes blended perfectly and the consistency was moist not runny.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luluvel, Owner at lucias kitchen, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Victoria,
thank you for your kind words and continued support!
Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed lucias kitchen also viewed

 

Been to lucias kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lucias kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.