We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn By the Sea to your Saves list
Inn By the Sea
40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Guest services are the stand-out at this luxurious, beautifully-situated beachside resort in Maine's plushest neighbourhood. Jolly Eva, who booked us in, had the inside track on all the best places, from a local lobster shack serving simple steamed lobsters amid a glorious clifftop sunset to fine dining in Portland - and even the best handmade icecream in town. We were particularly impressed that unlike most luxury hotels she didn't point us to the priciest place but to the most genuine and atmospheric. Thank you, Eva. The same high standard prevailed among all staff. The hotel is on a fairly small scale and you do feel that you are at a home from home. Huge rooms with an upstairs and downstairs and especially indulgent bathrooms complimented with top-drawer Occitaine toiletries. Lovely pool and gardens. Restaurant pleasantly surprised us by its professional skill, and gets extra points for focusing on local cheeses. If I had one gripe it would be that breakfast service is too laid back for its own good: speed up, guys: we want to get into the sun! Breakfast should not take an hour! Not a cheap destination but we did feel we got what we paid for, and more. Whoever runs this place is getting things pretty much right. I have very rarely in my life said I would return anywhere, but if they can keep up this standard then I would allow myself to be taken back - kicking and screaming, of course, as you will understand...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Thank you for your kind review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to the high quality of our guest rooms and Sea Glass dining experience. We are especially pleased to hear your comments about our personalized service and experienced staff enhancing your travel experience. Our staff is dedicated to making each guest stay special and unique upon each return. I’ll be sure to pass along your comments to the breakfast staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    107
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
152
361
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My sister-in-law and I needed to have a pampering experience since we are the "pamperers" and not the pampered (are these even real words)?? We live only 30 miles away from the Inn but it felt like we were thousands of miles away from our stress.

If I used a thesaurus to describe all the benefits The Inn and staff provided it would not even give you a glimpse into the magic they make. You must experience this jewel for yourself. Book your bliss now.

I remarked to my sister -in-law, as we were curled up in plush robes after a day of sun, sea and sensational attention by the staff, that "Heaven can't possibly be this good." She agreed.

Special thanks and gratitude to Laurie, Mark, and Jimmy, Professional Angels.

We WILL be back.

Peace & Love,

Thelma & Louise

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Dear Thelma & Louise, Thank you for your kind review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. Our “Professional Angels” are so delighted that they were able to provide you with a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Maine Coast in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

On a recent trip - planned four months out - we asked for the best room in the place, making it clear that we were a couple. What we were sold was a 2 bedroom cabin with a bathroom from 1985 and extremely uncomfortable beds and bedding. For more than $600/night this was completely unacceptable. Upon arrival we were told that people usually like to stay in the main house better. This came as a shock to us, as we had been clear upon booking about what we wanted.

On a high note, the breakfast was good, and particularly good were the baked goods. I wouldn't stay here again, but if I had to, I'd certainly not book the cabins.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I’m concerned about your comments of the Inn missing the mark of understanding your needs in the reservation process and would like the opportunity to discuss in further detail with you in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. Please know that your willingness to share is most appreciated and does not go unnoticed. Looking forward to your contact in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Just north of LA, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed on on Maine 3 extra days during a recent heatwave so the kids could enjoy the beautiful sandy beach that the Inn sits ;Crescent Beach. Everything here has been well thought out from the beautifully appointed rooms , a king bed in a huge loft with an elegant kitchenette and living area with balcony that has a lovely view of the water downstairs. The staff are all super friendly upbeat and immediately there to assist in anyway. From providing smores and all the tools needed to make smores around the woodburning firepit lit every evening right outside the pool area to the beach chairs and beach towels provided and ready for the beach, to the amazing restaurant and lovely waitstaff and seating hostess... the back porch of this property provides a pace to eat at the restaurant inside or out as well as a bar area inside and a lovely casual seating area to take in the views of the property and the waterfront. Everyone in our family loved staying here and cannot wait to go back. The Inn is expensive. at over $500 per night . for a family of 4. but definitely a special treat and was the highlight of our trip, as we stayed at a rental house for 2 weeks prior that was much older and in rough condition and not on a sandy beach at $300 per night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
Thank you for your kind review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to the high quality of our guest rooms, dining and grounds. I am especially pleased to hear your comments about our new wood burning fire pit complimenting the quintessential New England experience, our guests really love roasting s’mores each evening. We are so delighted that we were able to provide you with a positive travel experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Maine Coast in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Recently stayed at Inn by the Sea while travelling around New England with two friends. We booked a "Loft Cottage" which was very spacious and spread out over two levels. Main floor had a large living / dining area with tv, kitchen, full bath and a bedroom with a queen sized bed. On the second level or loft level there was a half bath and two queen beds, tv and several sky lights. Room and furnishings all very nice although bathrooms and kitchen definitely were in need of some updates. My parents who have stayed at the hotel a few times had mentioned that the rooms named "cottages" are in the older section of the hotel. Supposedly rooms in the newer section are stunning in all respects however they also cost more.

I really don't have any major complaints, there was absolutely nothing wrong with our room however there was no air conditioning and it was quite hot out during our stay. We noticed a couple of the other "cottages" had air conditioners in the window but ours did not. There was an air conditioner in the closet that was FOR the window but had yet to be installed. It would have been nice to have a/c.

The hotel grounds, the swimming pool & the beach are all spectacular. The food we had at the restaurant was some of the best of our entire holiday. The Inn by the Sea is not a cheap place to say but I would say over all it was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Thank you for your kind review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our beautiful beach and pool as well as your Sea Glass dining experience. Our sincere apology as it appears we had missed the mark in regards to climate control in the room. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. I’m pleased that we were able to provide you with a positive travel experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Maine Coast in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We came up from New York City with friends visiting from Lake Como Italy and we all loved our stay at the Inn by the Sea. We began each evening with drinks and apertivo in the cozy bar and enjoyed meeting other guests visiting the Inn. We had an amazing dining experience at the Seaglass on Friday night and spent a lovely day at the beach on Saturday. We heard that the spa treatments are fantastic but book early because everyone wants to get in! We highly recommend the Inn to all!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you for your kind review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to the high quality of our guest rooms, beach and Sea Glass dining experience. Our staff is so delighted that we were able to provide you with a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back for that missed Spa treatment in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed in a garden suite for four nights. Rate including taxes and breakfast was $400 per day so not a cheap stay. The suite was spacious with a lovely bathroom and extras you'd expect like Occitane toiletries but nothing to knock you out. The food was also fine and the lobster roll ($19) was the best we had in Maine. We liked our breakfast sever, Janice, but overall the hotel missed the spot when it came to a warm and welcoming service. The individual young staff were by and large OK but no evidence of a manager pulling the whole thing together and bringing a sense of energy and enthusiasm. This contratsed with the atmosphere at Black Point Inn where we had a great lunch and welcome.
The hotel depends on good weather - there is a nice pool. There are millions of rules on the pool gate but two were flouted whilst we were there - dogs with owners in the area, actually on the loungers! and unaccompanied children playing. The local state parks are small, ok for a stroll but nothing more and Portland has little to offer. A nearby restaurant called the Good Table was recommended but it is an average family run place essentially serving sit down fast food. I would not return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I and our staff are concerned about your comments of the Inn missing the mark in regards to a warm and welcoming experience during your recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.
Our goal is to provide a great personalized service experience to all of our guests. It’s disappointing to learn that you were unhappy with all aspect of your stay.
Please know that comments and suggestions do not go unnoticed . Your willingness to share is genuinely appreciated. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.