We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn by the Sea worthy of a trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn By the Sea to your Saves list
Inn By the Sea
40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inn by the Sea worthy of a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

While traveling to Maine to pickup a puppy we were looking for a pet friendly hotel. It just so happened the Inn by the Sea was featured in Coastal living and looked like a perfect. We decided to extend the trip and spend a couple extra days in the area to also celebrate our anniversary. The resort didn't disappoint. The resort is beautiful and the rooms are fantastic. The staff was great especially Eva. They really make you feel welcome and at home. One thing worth noting is the "little things" that they pay attention to. A lot of times these are what makes a stay great and they excelled at it. If we ever travel to this area again I have no doubt were we will stay.

Room Tip: The traditional rooms are just that. A Traditional Inn/hotel style. They are still well appointed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Scott234,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our pet friendly practices, accommodations and most of all our warm, welcoming staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    103
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
140
334
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Everything from the location to the food, spa, and room service was outstanding. We brought our dog and that is why we stayed there and will again. They treat the dogs very special. The rooms were clean and beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear dmwaldgroup,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our location, culinary offerings, accommodations, eco-friendly spa and pet friendly services at the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We love this inn and the beautiful beach near it. We keep coming back as the inn welcomes dogs and this time of year, dogs are allowed on the beach. We really wish the inn would also allow cats so we could bring our kitty too instead of having to board him. Currently, they only have one room that allows cats and it is in one of the cottages (more expensive than the rooms) that isn't open this time of year.

The view from the room is wonderful. The décor of our garden suite was warm and cozy and all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely vegan evening dinner at the hotel's restaurant, while the hotel provided pet sitting for our two dogs ($10/hour).

We had a great stay, except our bedroom was noisy due to being next to the walk path and sharing a wall with the service elevator. Whenever the dogs heard a noise from either of these places, they would bark and wake us up. We look forward to our next stay at the inn, where we will request a room away from the walk path and service elevator.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a dog, recommend avoiding garden suites 112 and 212, as they share a wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear CW_Travelz,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, well appointed accommodations, Sea glass dining experience and most of all, our friendly and helpful staff! We are so delighted to read that you were able to enjoy our fido friendly rooms and our sincere apologies to Mr./Ms. Kitty in the winter months. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We came from Vermont searching for Spring but did not find it in Maine.....instead we found the Inn by the Sea. We enjoyed every minute of our stay! Our room was so cozy with the fireplace. And the best part was the warm homemade cookies every afternoon brought to our room! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear KarenVermont,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our warm accommodations and cozy amenities at the Inn. We too are very much looking for Spring and hope to find it very soon! Please call us if you find it before we do! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales &
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I and our two sons were so impressed with the Inn By The Sea. From the moment we stepped into the lobby, the service was wonderful. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The Inn is gorgeous from the room we stayed in to the spay and restaurant. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed our walk along the beach. We highly recommend the Inn By The Sea and we know we will be visiting again for another wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms are lovely with a nice walkout porch and great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Lynn S,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our location, décor, accommodations, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our friendly and accommodating staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales &
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The staff at Inn by the Sea. Not only was it ok to bring our dog, but the staff clearly loves having dogs around. The food was great, and since dogs are allowed on the beach in the winter, we got some great exercise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear AllTheContinents,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our pet friendly services, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our warm staff at the Inn! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you and your four legged family member back to the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wonderful room with great view of ocean. Lovely fire pit outside that I would've have been all over if I weren't on crutches! Food was amazing! Never had a Caesar salad like this before with charred and wilted Romaine (in fact, I've never gotten excited about a salad before, period!) Would gladly have had 2 instead of an entrée. Yes, it was that good! The house dressing was to die for. If it would have lasted on the 2 hour drive home I would've gotten one to go. My husband loved the salmon, too, and ate every single bite. Raved about it the entire time. Not being a seafood lover, I just took his word for it. In addition, the service was impeccable. The gas fireplaces have now inspired us to get one for our bedroom at home, and I loved that fact that the resort is pet-friendly. We did not bring our dogs this time, but maybe we will the next! Definitely worth a visit, and a return visit!

Room Tip: If available, I would recommend asking for an ocean view. I forgot to ask, and was pleasantly surpr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Elizabeth B,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our location, Sea Glass dining experience and impeccable service! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you and your pooch back to the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.