We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn By the Sea to your Saves list
Inn By the Sea
40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Hinesburg, Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have family nearby and snapped up a deal when it came our way. The room was great and included small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, two tv's and probably more. Nice spa-if-you-want it atmosphere, but very low key. Dogs allowed! We had two full breakfasts and they were both very, very good. Nice selection and cheerful server ... all while sitting next to the window with ocean view. Oh! The front desk and bell people acted like we were old friends; seemed glad to see and serve us.

Room Tip: If you don't have a dog (easy access to outside), you might ask to see a second floor room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Penrose J,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your kind comments in regards to our accommodations, Sea Glass dining experience and our warm and friendly staff members. You are certainly correct when you say that our “staff seemed glad to see and serve us” as they are all dedicated service professionals who take pride in delivering a positive service experience to all of our guests. Again, thank you for sharing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    104
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
140
336
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent three days in February here with our dog. We had a garden suite with a porch and direct access to the path to the beach. The suite was beautiful and had everything one could need. I loved the little metal lobster that was to be used as a "Do Not Disturb Sign". The staff was very accommodating to any needs. The knock on the door each night with 2 cookies, a dog treat, and two bottles of water was a nice touch. We had been here many years ago, but the property had been completely redone since then. It was also our first visit with our dog.It was great having direct access with the door leading from our room right outside for his walks.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms have direct outdoor access. The upstairs ones have a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sylvia60745,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your kind comments in regards to our Garden Suite accommodations, nightly turndown service and accommodating staff members at the Inn. I’m also delighted to read that this was your first visit with your VIP (Very Important Pet) and we do hope to see you all again sometime in the near future! . Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Inn by the Sea weekend of Feb 22-24. Great stay, highly recommend this hotel. We stayed in the main building, had a king size bed with fireplace. Could see the water from our room. The bathroom is very large, double sinks, the bath towels are huge. Upon arrival, in our room were cookies, small bottles of water and a cheese and fruit dish in the refrigerator. Lounge was very nice with a gas fireplace, the dining room also very nice for breakfast and dinner.

The spa was excellent, highly recommend a treatment here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Donna T,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our Traditional accommodations, in room amenities and positive Sea Glass dining experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn very soon. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I spent last Monday through Wednesday the Inn with our two golden retrievers. We took advantage of a special two-night deal for Presidents' Day, and opted for a Garden Suite - Room 112. This corner room was amazing - clean, spacious, luxurious, and very comfortable. Our room did not have a fireplace, but it was very cozy, even with a nasty rain and wind storm during one of the nights. We loved that we could take our dogs right out the porch door and onto the grounds. The staff was very friendly and definitely gave our dogs VIP service. We appreciated that we could eat breakfast in the lounge and have them with us. The Inn is in a very quiet area, but Portland is only a short drive and Freeport is only 30-minutes away. We took several walks on Crescent Beach despite the brisk wind during the entire stay. It was so hard to leave the Inn by the Sea, but we plan to return very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear scrapper1114,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your kind comments in regards to our accommodations, VIP (Very Important Pet) treatment and our warm and friendly staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you all back sometime in the near future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My family stayed at the Inn by the Sea for four nights between Christmas and New Year's Eve as a little get-away. There was a great promotion on the one bedroom beach suites, which have been beautifully renovated, and we had a terrific time. The two bedrooms were all booked and so my teenage kids slept on the sofa bed and an air mattress in the living room (a little squisy but do-able.) The hotel room appointments are spectacular-gorgeous bedding, bathrooms, bathroom products, kitchen supplies (literally everything you could think of needing was in the small kitchenettes) and the housekeepers brought home made cookies each evening which is a lovely touch. We had a gorgeous view of the dunes and the ocean in the distance, but of course going in December is not a beach vacation experience. We enjoyed the beautiful health club and spa treatments. I particularly love the little bar with fireplace and many guests' canine friends. Our room had a gas fireplace and great flatscreen TV. Housekeeping loaned us a DVD player so we could watch movies. I love this hotel. It is my second visit and it won't be my last. Consider it off season-so luxurious and much more affordable!

Room Tip: The two floor rooms in the Inn are great-have stayed in those before. From their balconies and upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Gametotravel,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our new Beach Suite accommodations, eco-friendly Spa and lobby lounge. I’m also delighted to read that this was your second visit to the Inn and I’d so glad there will be more to follow. Thank you again for sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn very soon. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second visit to the Inn, our first with our canine companion. The room was well appointed, the bathroom with the huge soaking tub was spa like. Staff was great! The beach was a short walk away, certainly enjoyed by our golden retriever companion. Portland was just a short distance, as was Freeport. Great place for a winter getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear DaveB1156,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your kind comments in regards to our accommodations and great staff! I’m also glad to read that your four legged companion enjoyed Crescent Beach this off season. Thank you again for sharing and we hope to welcome you back on your third trip to the Inn by the Sea sometime in the near future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had such a nice winter stay here at the Inn by the Sea with our dog Rosy. We stayed in a beach suite (#613) and it was great - a single floor corner unit with gas fireplace, huge bedroom and huge bathroom with a soaking stub and modern shower. The view from the living/kitchen area was great - all ocean! The beach is beautiful and peaceful - not heavily visited in the winter and so often we had the entire beach to ourselves. We dined several times in the cozy lounge (Rosy was allowed with us in the lounge) with a roaring fire in the gas fireplace and the food was DELICIOUS! The homemade pineapple sorbet was especially yummy! The best thing about the Inn is the amazing staff - hospitality abounds at the Inn by the Sea! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear PFEMPW,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to new Beach Suites, cozy lounge and positive Sea Glass dining experience. I’m also glad to read that Rosy enjoyed our VIP (very important pet) treatment and we truly appreciate your comments about our well trained, warm and friendly staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to southern coast of Maine in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.